Alaska residents, follow our step-by-step guide below to get your Alaska insurance claims adjuster license. We’ve also included information on how to renew your Alaska license and what reciprocity looks like for AK adjusters so you’ll have everything you need to obtain and maintain your license.
Not an Alaska resident? Visit the State of Alaska Department of Commerce website to see details on getting your DHS or nonresident license.
Let’s get started!
#1: Meet the Basic Requirements for the Alaska Adjuster License
Before you start taking steps to get your resident adjuster license, make sure you meet Alaska’s basic requirements.
- Be at least 18 years of age
- Be trustworthy and competent
- Be a resident of, and actually residing in, the state of Alaska
- Have at least 6 months experience, within the past two years, in any of the following:
- Independent Adjuster
- Independent Adjuster Trainee
- Insurance Producer
- Managing General Agent
- Reinsurance Intermediary Manager or Broker
- Underwriter or Claims Adjuster employee of an insurer
If you meet these basic requirements, it’s time to strategize how to ace the Alaska Adjuster state exam.
#2: Prepare for the Alaska Adjuster License State Exam
While a pre-licensing course isn’t required by the state, we highly recommend you take the AdjusterPro Alaska Adjuster Exam Prep Course so you’ll be fully prepared to ace the state exam.
Our course has been rigorously prepared and is regularly updated. Our online classroom allows you to print reference materials, take practice tests, and even create your own quizzes to help with subjects you are struggling with. Once you’re consistently making 90% on your practice tests and passing all the quizzes with flying colors…it’s exam time!
#3: Register for and Pass the Alaska Adjuster License State Exam
Register for and take your state exam through PearsonVUE Alaska.
The exam is comprised of 80 questions and you must score at least 70% to pass. Candidates who score below 70% will need to retake the exam and pay the exam fees again. You will be given 1 hour and 30 minutes to complete the exam.
How to Become an Insurance Adjuster in 5 Steps
Getting your home state or designated home state license is a great start. See what else it takes to establish a successful career in the insurance claims industry.
#4: Process and Submit Fingerprints for a Background Check
All Alaska resident candidates taking an insurance examination for the first time must be fingerprinted for a security background check. The fingerprint reservation is a separate appointment from the exam appointment; however, it should be at the same location/time as your insurance examination.
Fingerprinting services are offered through PearsonVUE at the Anchorage, AK location and some Washington state test centers. Anchorage test takers must schedule an insurance examination appointment with PearsonVUE prior to contacting IdentoGo for the fingerprint appointment. You MUST have a fingerprint appointment prior to arriving at the Anchorage Test Center.
To make a fingerprint reservation, contact IdentoGo at 1-866-761-8069 or https://pearsonwest.ibtfingerprint.com.
If you are testing in any one of the other AK test centers, contact your local department of Public Safety to have your fingerprints taken. You will submit the fingerprint card with your license application to the Alaska Insurance Department along with the fee to cover the cost of the criminal background check with the FBI.
#5: Submit an Application for Your Alaska Adjuster License
Once you pass the exam, submit an application for your adjuster license at National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR).
You can check to see if your Alaska Adjuster License has been issued through the SBS Lookup page.
#6: Complete Alaska Adjuster Continuing Education and License Renewal Requirements
Once you have your license, you’ll need to complete some additional steps every few years to keep it active. Resident Alaska adjusters are required to complete 24 hours of continuing education (CE) every two years. You cannot receive credit for any course more than once in a reporting period. Up to 8 hours of excess CE credits can be applied to the next compliance cycle.
The 24 hours of CE must include at least 3 hours of Ethics.
Renew your license through NIPR. Licenses expire biennially on the last day of birth month.
AdjusterPro offers over 40 hours of state-approved continuing education courses for Alaska adjusters. Courses can be purchased individually or as a discounted bundle.
Additional Information for Alaska Insurance Adjusters
Now that you know how to become an adjuster, let’s take a detailed look at the fees and costs of getting and maintaining your license.
Alaska Adjuster Licensing Fees
- AdjusterPro Alaska Exam Prep Course: $179
- State Exam Fee: $89
- Fingerprinting Fee: $51.50
- Licensing Fee: $75
- License Renewal Fee: $75
Alaska Adjuster License Reciprocity
Reciprocity means an adjuster holding a home state license can apply for an adjuster license in another state without having to take that state’s exam. If you want to learn more about reciprocity and why it’s vital to your success, visit our Reciprocity: The Truth About Adjuster Licensing Agreements Between States blog article.
Fees for reciprocal licenses vary by state, but on average you can expect to pay between $40 and $60 per application, although a few states charge up to $120. To see what states will offer reciprocal licensing privileges to Alaska adjusters, visit our Alaska Adjuster Reciprocity Map. At the bottom of the page, we also offer a downloadable guide to help you prioritize which reciprocal licenses you should get first.
Alaska grants reciprocal licenses to adjusters who are licensed in their home state. Alaska does NOT accept the Designated Home State (DHS) license so you must pass the Alaska state exam if you live in a non-licensing state.
Alaska Division of Insurance Contact Information
Website: Alaska Division of Insurance
State of Alaska Department of Commerce
550 W 7th AVE, STE 1535
Anchorage, AK 99501-3587
Fax: 907-269-812507) 269-8125(907) 269-8125
Obtaining your home state license is the first step to a career as an insurance adjuster. Once you have your Alaska home state or designated home state license, you should apply for reciprocal licenses so you can work in more states, making you more attractive to potential employers.
No matter where you’re at in your insurance adjusting career, we can help.