Hawaii residents, follow our step-by-step guide below to get your Hawaii insurance claims adjuster license. We’ve also included information on how to renew your Hawaii license and what reciprocity looks like for HI adjusters so you’ll have everything you need to obtain and maintain your license.
Not a Hawaii resident? Hawaii does not offer reciprocal licenses to adjusters from any other state. If you want to work claims in the Aloha state, you’ll need to pass their state exam. Information on how to get your nonresident license is available on the Hawaii DCCA: Insurance website.
Let’s get started!
#1: Meet the Basic Requirements for the Hawaii Independent Adjuster License
Before you start taking steps to get your resident adjuster license, make sure you meet Hawaii’s basic requirements.
- Be at least 18 years of age
- If you’ve been convicted of any felony, you must request the commissioner’s written consent to engage in the business of insurance
If you meet these basic requirements, it’s time to strategize how to ace the Hawaii Independent Adjuster state exam.
#2: Prepare for the Hawaii Adjuster License State Exam
While a pre-licensing course isn’t required by the state, we highly recommend you take the AdjusterPro Hawaii Adjuster Exam Prep Course so you’ll be fully prepared to ace the state exam.
Our course has been rigorously prepared and is regularly updated. Our online classroom allows you to print reference materials, take practice tests, and even create your own quizzes to help with subjects you are struggling with. Once you’re consistently making 90% on your practice tests and passing all the quizzes with flying colors…it’s exam time!
#3: Register for and Pass the Hawaii Adjuster License State Exam
Register for and take your state exam through PearsonVue.
The exam is comprised of 140 questions and you must score at least 70% to pass. Candidates who score below 70% will need to retake the exam and pay the exam fees again. You will be given 2 hours and 45 minutes to complete the exam.
How to Become an Insurance Adjuster in 5 Steps
Getting your home state or designated home state license is a great start. See what else it takes to establish a successful career in the insurance claims industry.
#4: Process and Submit Fingerprints for a Background Check
Hawaii requires resident applicants to submit their fingerprints electronically for a background check.
To obtain fingerprints, schedule an appointment online at Fieldprint Hawaii. Fees collected by Fieldprint include state and federal submission fees. Applicants need to enter “HI-DCCA-INS”, the code that identifies the Insurance Division as the intended recipient of your fingerprint results, when scheduling an appointment with Fieldprint.
Fieldprint will electronically submit your fingerprints to the state.
#5: Submit an Application for Your Hawaii Independent Adjuster License
Once you pass the exam, submit an application for your adjuster license through the Hawaii DCCA website application. You can check to see if your license has been issued through Hawaii Insurance License Search.
#6: Complete Continuing Education and License Renewal Requirements
Once you have your license, you’ll need to formally renew it to keep it active. Hawaii adjusters can renew their license through HDCCA License Extension/Renewal website.
Hawaii does not require independent insurance adjusters to complete continuing education (CE) hours.
Additional Information for Hawaii Insurance Adjusters
Now that you know how to become an adjuster, let’s take a detailed look at the fees and costs of getting and maintaining your license.
Hawaii Adjuster Licensing Fees
- AdjusterPro Hawaii Exam Prep Course: $179
- State Exam Fee: $75
- Fingerprinting Fee: $17
- Application and Renewal Fees: See Hawaii Fee Schedule
Hawaii Adjuster License Reciprocity
Reciprocity means an adjuster holding a home state license can apply for an adjuster license in another state without having to take that state’s exam. If you want to learn more about reciprocity and why it’s vital to your success, visit our Reciprocity: The Truth About Adjuster Licensing Agreements Between States blog article.
Fees for reciprocal licenses vary by state, but on average you can expect to pay between $40 and $60 per application, although a few states charge up to $120. To see what states will offer reciprocal licensing privileges to Hawaii adjusters, visit our Hawaii Adjuster Reciprocity Map. At the bottom of the page, we also offer a downloadable guide to help you prioritize which reciprocal licenses you should get first.
Hawaii does not grant reciprocal licenses to adjusters from out-of-state. If you want to be licensed to work in Hawaii, you will need to go through their testing and application process.
Hawaii Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs: Insurance Division Contact Information
Website: Hawaii DCCA Insurance
Hawaii Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs
335 Merchant Street, Room 213
Honolulu, Hawaii 96813
Obtaining your home state license is the first step to a career as an insurance adjuster. Once you have your Hawaii resident adjuster license, you should apply for reciprocal licenses so you can work in more states, making you more attractive to potential employers.
No matter where you’re at in your insurance adjusting career, we can help.