North Carolina residents, follow our step-by-step guide below to get your North Carolina insurance claims adjuster license. We’ve also included information on how to renew your North Carolina license and what reciprocity looks like for NC adjusters so you’ll have everything you need to obtain and maintain your license.
Not a North Carolina resident? Visit the NCDOI website to see details on getting your DHS or nonresident license.
Let’s get started!
#1: Meet the Basic Requirements for the North Carolina Adjuster License
Before you start taking steps to get your resident adjuster license, make sure you meet North Carolina’s basic requirement.
- Be at least 18 years of age
That’s it! Now it’s time to strategize how to ace the North Carolina state adjuster exam.
#2: Prepare for the North Carolina Adjuster License State Exam
While a pre-licensing course isn’t required by the state, we highly recommend taking the AdjusterPro North Carolina Adjuster Exam Prep Course so you’ll be fully prepared to ace the state exam.
Our course has been rigorously prepared and is regularly updated. Our online classroom allows you to print reference materials, take practice tests, and even create your own quizzes to help with subjects you are struggling with. Once you’re consistently making 90% on your practice tests and passing all the quizzes with flying colors…it’s exam time!
Helpful Tip: You may see a few types of adjusters listed in North Carolina’s handbooks or on websites. They have “Adjuster: Company/Independent Firm” and “Adjuster: Self-Employed” as two different options. These are essentially the same position and require the same preparation and exam. (So AdjusterPro’s does work for either!) It really boils down to what you want your title to be.
#3: Submit an Initial Application through NIPR
North Carolina requires applicants to submit a resident initial application prior to taking any required licensing examinations. You will not be allowed to schedule your licensing exam until you complete the license application online with NIPR.
You’ll be asked to designate either “Adjuster: Company/Independent Firm” or “Adjuster: Self-Employed” as your job title. These are essentially the same position and neither choice will prohibit you from working as an independent or staff adjuster.
After submitting your initial application, you will receive an email authorization from PearsonVUE that contains information on how to schedule your exam.
The initial application is valid for 6 months from the submission date.
#4: Register for and Pass the North Carolina Adjuster License State Exam
Register for and take your state exam according to the directions you received in the email from NIPR. (You will actually take the exam through PearsonVUE.)
The exam consists of 100 questions and you must score at least 70% on your exam to pass. Candidates who score below 70% will need to retake the exam and pay the fees again. You will be given 2 hours and 15 minutes to complete the exam.
How to Become an Insurance Adjuster in 5 Steps
Getting your home state or designated home state license is a great start. See what else it takes to establish a successful career in the insurance claims industry.
#5: Complete the Application for Your North Carolina Adjuster License
Within 48 – 72 hours after passing your exam, NIPR will match your test results with your pending license application and send you an email with further instructions.
You can check to see if your North Carolina Adjuster License has been issued at SBS.
#6: Complete North Carolina Continuing Education and License Renewal Requirements
Once you have your license, you’ll need to complete some additional steps every few years to keep it active. Resident North Carolina adjusters are required to complete 24 hours of continuing education (CE) every two years, including 3 hours in Ethics. In the first compliance period and every other compliance period after that (every four years), adjusters must also complete 3 hours in Flood Insurance.
The 24 hours must include:
- 3 hours of Ethics every two years
- 3 hours of Flood Insurance for the first compliance cycle, and every four years after that
North Carolina Adjusters will not receive credit for any CE course taken twice in any 24-month period, regardless of their license compliance cycle so be sure to track and plan your CE courses accordingly. Any credits above the required number of CE hours will carry forward to the next biennial compliance period. Excess ethics or flood credits will carry over to the next compliance period as general credits.
The date of your license renewal depends on the date and year your license was issued. Review the NCDOI CE Information Chart to determine your compliance date.
Renew your license through NIPR.
AdjusterPro offers over 40 hours of state-approved continuing education courses for North Carolina adjusters, including the required flood and ethics courses. Courses can be purchased individually or as a discounted bundle.
Additional Information for North Carolina Insurance Adjusters
Now that you know how to become an adjuster, let’s take a detailed look at the fees and costs of getting and maintaining your license.
North Carolina Adjuster Licensing Fees
- AdjusterPro North Carolina Exam Prep Course: $179
- State Exam Fee: $45
- Registration Fee: $50
- Application Processing Fee: $44
- Licensing Fee: $75
- NIPR Application Processing Fee: $5
- License Renewal Processing Fee: $50
- License Renewal Fee: $50
North Carolina Adjuster License Reciprocity
Reciprocity means an adjuster holding a home state license can apply for an adjuster license in another state without having to take that state’s exam. If you want to learn more about reciprocity and why it’s vital to your success, visit our Reciprocity: The Truth About Adjuster Licensing Agreements Between States blog article.
Fees for reciprocal licenses vary by state, but on average you can expect to pay between $40 and $60 per application, although a few states charge up to $120. To see what states will offer reciprocal licensing privileges to North Carolina adjusters, visit our North Carolina Adjuster Reciprocity Map. At the bottom of the page, we also offer a downloadable guide to help you prioritize which reciprocal licenses you should get first.
North Carolina grants reciprocal licenses to adjusters who are licensed in their home state. North Carolina will also accept a Designated Home State (DHS) license from an adjuster whose home state does not license.
North Carolina Department of Insurance Contact Information
1204 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-1204
Obtaining your home state license is the first step to a career as an insurance adjuster. Once you have your North Carolina home state or designated home state license, you should apply for reciprocal licenses so you can work in more states, making you more attractive to potential employers.
No matter where you’re at in your insurance adjusting career, we can help.