Oklahoma residents, follow our step-by-step guide below to get your Oklahoma insurance claims adjuster license. We’ve also included information on how to renew your Oklahoma license and what reciprocity looks like for OK adjusters so you’ll have everything you need to obtain and maintain your license.
Not an Oklahoma resident? Visit OKID Nonresident Adjuster to see details on getting your DHS or nonresident license.
Let’s get started!
#1: Meet the Basic Requirements for the Oklahoma Adjuster License
Before you start taking steps to get your resident adjuster license, make sure you meet Oklahoma’s basic requirements.
- Be a U.S. citizen or legal alien with a work authorization from the Immigration and Naturalization Services
- Be a resident of the state of Oklahoma
- Be at least 18 years of age
If you’ve been convicted of a felony, you must submit a 1033 Waiver Application online and receive approval back from the state before your application will be considered.
If you meet these basic requirements, it’s time to strategize how to ace the Oklahoma Adjuster state exam.
#2: Prepare for the Oklahoma Adjuster License State Exam
While a pre-licensing course isn’t required by the state, we highly recommend you take the AdjusterPro Oklahoma Adjuster Exam Prep Course so you’ll be fully prepared to ace the state exam.
Our course has been rigorously prepared and is regularly updated. Our online classroom allows you to print reference materials, take practice tests, and even create your own quizzes to help with subjects you are struggling with. Once you’re consistently making 90% on your practice tests and passing all the quizzes with flying colors…it’s exam time!
#3: Register for and Pass the Oklahoma Adjuster License State Exam
Register for and take your state exam through Prometric Oklahoma.
Make sure you enter the correct name, date of birth, social security number, etc. when registering. Mistakes will halt your ability to apply for your license and can take a long time to get corrected.
The test is comprised of 85 questions, plus 5 unscored items. You are given 2.25 hours to finish the exam and you must score at least 70% to pass. Candidates who score below 70% will need to retake the exam and pay the exam fees again.
How to Become an Insurance Adjuster in 5 Steps
Getting your home state or designated home state license is a great start. See what else it takes to establish a successful career in the insurance claims industry.
#4: Submit an Application for Your Oklahoma Adjuster License
Once you pass the exam, submit an application for your adjuster license at National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR).
You can check to see if your Oklahoma Adjuster License has been issued through the Licensee Look-Up page.
#5: Complete Oklahoma Adjuster Continuing Education and License Renewal Requirements
Once you have your license, you’ll need to complete some additional steps every few years to keep it active. Resident Oklahoma adjusters are required to complete 24 hours of continuing education (CE) every two years.
You may not take the same course within any two year period and receive CE credit so Oklahoma adjusters need to track and plan their CE hours accordingly. Up to six (6) excess CE credit hours can be carried forward to the next twenty-four month period as general CE credit hours.
The 24 hours must include:
- 3 hours of Ethics (Option 1 | Option 2)
- 2-hour OK Law Update
- 1-hour Earthquake course, for property adjusters only (Option 1 | Option 2)
Renew your license through NIPR.
AdjusterPro offers over 40 hours of state-approved continuing education courses for Oklahoma adjusters, including the required Legislative Updates and ethics courses. Courses can be purchased individually or as a discounted bundle.
Additional Information for Oklahoma Insurance Adjusters
Now that you know how to become an adjuster, let’s take a detailed look at the fees and costs of getting and maintaining your license.
Oklahoma Adjuster Licensing Fees
- AdjusterPro Oklahoma Exam Prep Course: $179
- State Exam Fee: $20
- Licensing Fee: $30 for one line of authority, $50 for two or more lines of authority
- License Renewal Fee: $50
Oklahoma Adjuster License Reciprocity
Reciprocity means an adjuster holding a home state license can apply for an adjuster license in another state without having to take that state’s exam. If you want to learn more about reciprocity and why it’s vital to your success, visit our Reciprocity: The Truth About Adjuster Licensing Agreements Between States blog article.
Fees for reciprocal licenses vary by state, but on average you can expect to pay between $40 and $60 per application, although a few states charge up to $120. To see what states will offer reciprocal licensing privileges to Oklahoma adjusters, visit our Oklahoma Adjuster Reciprocity Map. At the bottom of the page, we also offer a downloadable guide to help you prioritize which reciprocal licenses you should get first.
Oklahoma grants reciprocal licenses to adjusters who are licensed in their home state, except CA, HI, NM, NV, & NY. Oklahoma will also accept a Designated Home State (DHS) license for adjusters whose home state does not license.
Oklahoma Insurance Department Contact Information
Website: Oklahoma Department of Insurance
Oklahoma Insurance Department
400 NE 50th Street, Oklahoma City, OK 73105
Obtaining your home state license is the first step to a career as an insurance adjuster. Once you have your Oklahoma home state or designated home state license, you should apply for reciprocal licenses so you can work in more states, making you more attractive to potential employers.
No matter where you’re at in your insurance adjusting career, we can help.