Oregon residents, follow our step-by-step guide below to get your Oregon insurance claims adjuster license. We’ve also included information on how to renew your Oregon license and what reciprocity looks like for OR adjusters so you’ll have everything you need to obtain and maintain your license.
Not an Oregon resident? Visit the Oregon Division of Financial Regulation Licensing Instructions page to see details on getting your DHS or nonresident license.
Let’s get started!
#1: Meet the Basic Requirements for the Oregon Adjuster License
Before you start taking steps to get your resident adjuster license, make sure you meet Oregon’s basic requirements.
- Be at least 18 years of age
- Have a valid mailing address that isn’t a P.O. Box
- Provide a valid business email and residence phone number
If you meet these basic requirements, it’s time to strategize how to ace the Oregon Adjuster state exam.
#2: Prepare for the Oregon Adjuster License State Exam
While a pre-licensing course isn’t required by the state, we highly recommend you take the AdjusterPro Oregon Adjuster Exam Prep Course so you’ll be fully prepared to ace the state exam.
Our course has been rigorously prepared and is regularly updated. Our online classroom allows you to print reference materials, take practice tests, and even create your own quizzes to help with subjects you are struggling with. Once you’re consistently making 90% on your practice tests and passing all the quizzes with flying colors…it’s exam time!
#3: Register for and Pass the Oregon Adjuster License State Exam
Register for and take your state exam through PSI.
The exam is comprised of 150 questions and you must score at least 70% to pass. Candidates who score below 70% will need to retake the exam and pay the exam fees again. You will be given 2 hours and 40 minutes to complete the exam.
Oregon applicants must also be electronically fingerprinted and submit to a background check as part of the testing and application process.
Provide fingerprints and authorize a criminal records check by either having your fingerprints digitally scanned at a PSI testing center located in Oregon or scheduling an appointment at www.FieldprintOregon.com using the code FPORDeptConsumerBusServDAS.
How to Become an Insurance Adjuster in 5 Steps
Getting your home state or designated home state license is a great start. See what else it takes to establish a successful career in the insurance claims industry.
#4: Submit an Application for Your Oregon Adjuster License
Once you pass the exam, submit an application for your adjuster license at National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR).
You can check to see if your Oregon Adjuster License has been issued through SBS Oregon.
#5: Complete Oregon Adjuster Continuing Education and License Renewal Requirements
Once you have your license, you’ll need to complete some additional steps every few years to keep it active.
Beginning in 2020, Resident Oregon adjusters are required to complete 24 hours of continuing education (CE) every two years. The new CE requirement applies to any individual who has had the full 24 months to complete their CE. As such, the first licenses that this will apply to are those issued or renewed on or after January 1, 2020, for all licenses that expire on January 31, 2021 or later.
The 24 hours must include:
You cannot receive credit for any course more than once in any CE reporting period. Excess CE hours cannot be carried over into the next compliance cycle.
Renew your license through NIPR.
AdjusterPro offers over 40 hours of state-approved continuing education courses for Oregon adjusters, including the required Ethics and Law Updates courses. Courses can be purchased individually or as a discounted bundle.
Additional Information for Oregon Insurance Adjusters
Now that you know how to become an adjuster, let’s take a detailed look at the fees and costs of getting and maintaining your license.
Oregon Adjuster Licensing Fees
- AdjusterPro Oregon Exam Prep Course: $179
- State Exam Fee: $45
- Fingerprinting Fee: $56.25
- Licensing Fee: $75
- License Renewal Fee: $45
Oregon Adjuster License Reciprocity
Reciprocity means an adjuster holding a home state license can apply for an adjuster license in another state without having to take that state’s exam. If you want to learn more about reciprocity and why it’s vital to your success, visit our Reciprocity: The Truth About Adjuster Licensing Agreements Between States blog article.
Fees for reciprocal licenses vary by state, but on average you can expect to pay between $40 and $60 per application, although a few states charge up to $120. To see what states will offer reciprocal licensing privileges to Oregon adjusters, visit our Oregon Adjuster Reciprocity Map. At the bottom of the page, we also offer a downloadable guide to help you prioritize which reciprocal licenses you should get first.
Oregon grants reciprocal licenses to adjusters who are licensed in their home state as long as that state offers reciprocal licenses to OR adjusters. Oregon will also accept a Designated Home State (DHS) license for adjusters whose home state does not license.
Oregon Division of Financial Regulation Contact Information
Oregon Division of Financial Regulation
P.O. Box 14480
Salem, OR 97309-0405
Obtaining your home state license is the first step to a career as an insurance adjuster. Once you have your Oregon home state or designated home state license, you should apply for reciprocal licenses so you can work in more states, making you more attractive to potential employers.
No matter where you’re at in your insurance adjusting career, we can help.