Rhode Island residents, follow our step-by-step guide below to get your Rhode Island insurance claims adjuster license. We’ve also included information on how to renew your Rhode Island license and what reciprocity looks like for RI adjusters so you’ll have everything you need to obtain and maintain your license.
Not a Rhode Island resident? Visit the Rhode Island Department of Business Regulation to see details on getting your DHS or nonresident license.
Let’s get started!
#1: Meet the Basic Requirements for the Rhode Island Adjuster License
Before you start taking steps to get your resident adjuster license, make sure you meet Rhode Island’s basic requirements.
- Be at least 18 years of age
If you meet these basic requirements, it’s time to strategize how to ace the Rhode Island Adjuster state exam.
#2: Prepare for the Rhode Island Adjuster License State Exam
While a pre-licensing course isn’t required by the state, we highly recommend you take the AdjusterPro Rhode Island Adjuster Exam Prep Course so you’ll be fully prepared to ace the state exam.
Our course has been rigorously prepared and is regularly updated. Our online classroom allows you to print reference materials, take practice tests, and even create your own quizzes to help with subjects you are struggling with. Once you’re consistently making 90% on your practice tests and passing all the quizzes with flying colors…it’s exam time!
#3: Register for and Pass the Rhode Island Adjuster License State Exam
Register for and take your state exam through PearsonVue Rhode Island.
The exam is comprised of 35 questions and you will be given one hour to complete your exam.
Rhode Island grades the exams on a scaled scoring system which you can learn more about in the PearsonVue Handbook on page 5. Candidates who pass the exam are notified and will receive further instructions on the application process.
How to Become an Insurance Adjuster in 5 Steps
Getting your home state or designated home state license is a great start. See what else it takes to establish a successful career in the claims industry.
#4: Obtain a Background Check
Rhode Island requires all applicants to submit to a criminal background check. You can apply in person or via mail through the Rhode Island Attorney General’s office.
Visit RIAG Background Check or call 401-274-4400 for instructions.
#5: Submit an Application for Your Rhode Island Adjuster License
Once you pass the exam, submit your adjuster license application online through the National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR.)
You can check to see if your Rhode Island Adjuster License has been issued through SBS.
#6: Complete Rhode Island Adjuster Continuing Education and License Renewal Requirements
Once you have your license, you’ll need to renew it to keep it active. Resident Rhode Island adjusters are not required to complete continuing education hours as part of the license renewal process.
Renew your license through NIPR.
Additional Information for Rhode Island Insurance Adjusters
Now that you know how to become an adjuster, let’s take a detailed look at the fees and costs of getting and maintaining your license.
Rhode Island Adjuster Licensing Fees
- AdjusterPro Rhode Island Exam Prep Course: $179
- State Exam Fee: $80 at testing center or $50 for online exam
- Licensing Fee: $250 (This fee can be waived for any honorably discharged veteran by submitting a DD-214 form)
- Background Check Fee: $45
- Fingerprinting Fee: $15
- License Renewal Fee: $150
Rhode Island Adjuster License Reciprocity
Reciprocity means an adjuster holding a home state license can apply for an adjuster license in another state without having to take that state’s exam. If you want to learn more about reciprocity and why it’s vital to your success, visit our Reciprocity: The Truth About Adjuster Licensing Agreements Between States blog article.
Fees for reciprocal licenses vary by state, but on average you can expect to pay between $40 and $60 per application, although a few states charge up to $120. To see what states will offer reciprocal licensing privileges to Rhode Island adjusters, visit our Rhode Island Adjuster Reciprocity Map. At the bottom of the page, we also offer a downloadable guide to help you prioritize which reciprocal licenses you should get first.
Rhode Island grants reciprocal licenses to adjusters who are licensed in their home state or adjusters who hold a Designated Home State (DHS) license, as long as the home or DHS state requires an examination.
Rhode Island Department of Business Regulation Contact Information
Website: Rhode Island Department of Business Regulation
Insurance Regulation Division
1511 Pontiac Ave
Cranston, RI 02920
Obtaining your home state license is the first step to a career as an insurance adjuster. Once you have your Rhode Island home state or designated home state license, you should apply for reciprocal licenses so you can work in more states, making you more attractive to potential employers.
No matter where you’re at in your insurance adjusting career, we can help.