South Carolina residents, follow our step-by-step guide below to get your South Carolina insurance claims adjuster license. We’ve also included information on how to renew your South Carolina license and what reciprocity looks like for SC adjusters so you’ll have everything you need to obtain and maintain your license.
Not a South Carolina resident? Visit the SCDOI website to see details on getting your DHS or nonresident license.
Let’s get started!
#1: Meet the Basic Requirements for the South Carolina Adjuster License
Before you start taking steps to get your resident adjuster license, make sure you meet South Carolina’s basic requirements.
- Be at least 18 years of age
- Have a residence and/or business address in South Carolina
If you meet these basic requirements, it’s time to strategize how to ace the South Carolina Adjuster state exam.
#2: Prepare for the South Carolina Adjuster License State Exam
While a pre-licensing course isn’t required by the state, we highly recommend you take the AdjusterPro South Carolina Adjuster Exam Prep Course so you’ll be fully prepared to ace the state exam.
Our courses have been rigorously prepared and are regularly updated. Our online classroom allows you to print reference materials, take practice tests, and even create your own quizzes to help with subjects you are struggling with. Once you’re consistently making 90% on your practice tests and passing all the quizzes with flying colors…it’s exam time!
**It’s worth noting that South Carolina is one of only two states that require you to hold both an adjuster license and an auto appraiser license to handle any part of an auto claim. If you’re interested in working auto claims, we suggest looking into our South Carolina Auto Appraiser Package.
#3: Register for and Pass the South Carolina Adjuster License State Exam
Register for and take your state exam through PSI.
South Carolina has a few different license types for adjusters so make sure you schedule to take the exam for the series number you studied for. The AdjusterPro adjuster course prepares you for the Property, Casualty, Surety, and Marine Adjuster Series 19-11.
The test is comprised of 100 questions and you must score at least 70% on your exam to pass. Candidates who score below 70% will need to retake the exam and pay the fees again. You will be given 2 hours to complete the exam.
How to Become an Insurance Adjuster in 5 Steps
Getting your home state or designated home state license is a great start. See what else it takes to establish a successful career in the insurance claims industry.
#4: Submit an Application for Your South Carolina Adjuster License
Once you pass the exam, submit an application for your adjuster license at National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR).
South Carolina also requires applicants to submit a South Carolina Law Enforcement Division (SLED) report in conjunction with their application.
You can check to see if your South Carolina Adjuster License has been issued through NIPR.
#5: Complete South Carolina Continuing Education and License Renewal Requirements
Once you have your license, you’ll need to renew it every two years to keep it active. Resident South Carolina adjusters are NOT required to complete continuing education hours to renew their license.
Adjuster licenses are renewed in August of odd-numbered years.
Renew your South Carolina adjuster license at NIPR.
Additional Information for South Carolina Insurance Adjusters
Now that you know how to become an adjuster, let’s take a detailed look at the fees and costs of getting and maintaining your license.
South Carolina Adjuster Licensing Fees
- AdjusterPro South Carolina Exam Prep Course: $179
- State Exam Fee: $45
- SLED Report Fee: $25
- Licensing Fee: $80 (+$5 if you renew through NIPR)
- License Renewal Fee: $80 (+$5 if you renew through NIPR)
South Carolina Adjuster License Reciprocity
Reciprocity means an adjuster holding a home state license can apply for an adjuster license in another state without having to take that state’s exam. If you want to learn more about reciprocity and why it’s vital to your success, visit our Reciprocity: The Truth About Adjuster Licensing Agreements Between States blog article.
Fees for reciprocal licenses vary by state, but on average you can expect to pay between $40 and $60 per application, although a few states charge up to $120. To see what states will offer reciprocal licensing privileges to South Carolina adjusters, visit our South Carolina Adjuster Reciprocity Map. At the bottom of the page, we also offer a downloadable guide to help you prioritize which reciprocal licenses you should get first.
South Carolina grants reciprocal licenses to adjusters who are licensed in their home state, or adjusters who hold a Designated Home State (DHS) license, as long as the home or DHS state requires an examination.
South Carolina Department of Insurance Contact Information
South Carolina Department of Insurance
Post Office Box 100105
Columbia, SC 29202
Obtaining your home state license is the first step to a career as an insurance adjuster. Once you have your South Carolina home state or designated home state license, you should apply for reciprocal licenses so you can work in more states, making you more attractive to potential employers.
No matter where you’re at in your insurance adjusting career, we can help.