Vermont residents, follow our step-by-step guide below to get your Vermont insurance claims adjuster license. We’ve also included information on how to renew your Vermont license and what reciprocity looks like for VT adjusters so you’ll have everything you need to obtain and maintain your license.
Not a Vermont resident? Visit the Vermont Department of Financial Regulation to see details on getting your nonresident license.
Let’s get started!
#1: Meet the Basic Requirements for the Vermont P&C Adjuster License
Before you start taking steps to get your resident P&C 14-33 Adjuster License, make sure you meet Vermont’s basic requirements.
- Be at least 18 years of age
- Be competent, trustworthy, financially responsible, and of good personal and business reputation
- Meet the experience requirement through one of the following:
- Have two years’ experience in handling of loss claims
- Have undergone special training of sufficient duration and scope to make him/her competent to fulfill the license requirements. A person seeking to have special training recognized should submit a detailed description of the training, including syllabi, curriculum, and training material. (AdjusterPro’s course covers this requirement.)
- Be employed by and subject to the immediate personal supervision of an adjuster who is licensed in Vermont and has been for at least three years
If you meet these basic requirements, it’s time to strategize how to ace the Vermont Adjuster state exam.
#2: Prepare for the Vermont Adjuster License State Exam
While a pre-licensing course isn’t required by the state, we highly recommend you take the AdjusterPro Vermont Adjuster 14-33 Exam Prep Course so you’ll be fully prepared to ace the state exam.
Our course has been rigorously prepared and is regularly updated. Our online classroom allows you to print reference materials, take practice tests, and even create your own quizzes to help with subjects you are struggling with. Once you’re consistently making 90% on your practice tests and passing all the quizzes with flying colors…it’s exam time!
#3: Register for and Pass the Vermont P&C Adjuster License State Exam
Register for and take your state exam through Prometric Vermont.
The exam is comprised of 150 questions and you must score at least 70% to pass. Candidates who score below 70% will need to retake the exam and pay the fees again. You will be given 2.5 hours to complete the exam.
How to Become an Insurance Adjuster in 5 Steps
Getting your home state or designated home state license is a great start. See what else it takes to establish a successful career in the insurance claims industry.
#4: Submit an Application for Your Vermont 14-33 Adjuster License
Once you pass the exam, submit an application for your adjuster license at either National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR) or Sircon.
You can check to see if your license has been issued at Sircon Compliance. The state recommends waiting roughly 10 days from the date you submit your application before checking to see if it’s been issued. If your application is routine and does not require any additional information, the license is generally issued within 48 hours.
#5: Renew Your Vermont Adjuster License
Once you have your license, you’ll need to formally renew it to keep it active. You may only renew your license during the renewal period. The license term ends March 31 of even years. The department will send out renewal notices for existing licensees at the beginning of the even year. Detailed renewal information is available on the VDFR Online Renewal page.
Vermont adjusters can renew their license through either NIPR or Sircon.
Vermont does not require insurance adjusters to complete continuing education (CE) hours.
Additional Information for Vermont Insurance Adjusters
Now that you know how to become an adjuster, let’s take a detailed look at the fees and costs of getting and maintaining your license.
Vermont Adjuster Licensing Fees
- AdjusterPro Vermont Exam Prep Course: $179
- State Exam Fee: $65
- Application Fee: $30
- Licensing Fee: $120
- License Renewal Fee: $120
Vermont Adjuster License Reciprocity
Reciprocity means an adjuster holding a home state license can apply for an adjuster license in another state without having to take that state’s exam. If you want to learn more about reciprocity and why it’s vital to your success, visit our Reciprocity: The Truth About Adjuster Licensing Agreements Between States blog article.
Fees for reciprocal licenses vary by state, but on average you can expect to pay between $40 and $60 per application, although a few states charge up to $120. To see what states will offer reciprocal licensing privileges to Vermont adjusters, visit our Vermont Adjuster Reciprocity Map. At the bottom of the page, we also offer a downloadable guide to help you prioritize which reciprocal licenses you should get first.
Vermont grants reciprocal licenses to adjusters who are licensed in their home state, or adjusters who hold a Designated Home State (DHS) license, as long as the home or DHS state requires an examination.
Vermont Department of Financial Regulation Contact Information
Website: Vermont Department of Financial Regulation – Insurance Division
Vermont Department of Financial Regulation
89 Main Street
Montpelier, VT 05620
Phone: (802) 828-3303
Obtaining your home state license is the first step to a career as an insurance adjuster. Once you have your Vermont home state or designated home state license, you should apply for reciprocal licenses so you can work in more states, making you more attractive to potential employers.
No matter where you’re at in your insurance adjusting career, we can help.