If you’re interested in becoming a public adjuster in Florida, it’s important to know the process and continuing education requirements differ from those for an independent claims adjuster. Read on to see how to get your public adjuster license and important information about public adjuster CE.
If you aren’t sure which Florida adjuster license you need, check out our Decoding Florida’s Adjuster License Types article for more information.
In Florida, public adjusters and independent adjusters start by getting the same 6-20 license. It’s what happens after that determines whether you become a public or independent adjuster so let’s take a closer look.
Florida Public Adjuster Licensing Instructions (as of January 1, 2018)
All adjuster hopefuls – staff, independent, and public – start by getting the 6-20 Resident Adjuster License. This is great for career flexibility as you won’t have to take another exam or get a different license should you change your mind on the type of adjuster you want to be, or be offered a position in another sector.
Onto the steps!
- Pass the 6-20 state exam, or pass an approved alternate course like ours. Our Certified Adjuster Designation satisfies all the Florida Dept. of Financial Services requirements for getting your 6-20 license, including the exam requirement.
- Apply for the 6-20 Resident Adjuster License, including getting your fingerprints submitted.
- It’s important to note that once you receive this license, you can work as an independent or staff adjuster. To get your public adjuster license, continue with the following steps.
- After you receive your 6-20 license, you must be appointed by a public adjuster or public adjusting firm and apprentice under them for 6 months. (Holding a self-appointed license as an independent adjuster or a company-appointed license as a staff adjuster for a minimum of 12 months satisfies the state’s apprenticeship requirement as well.)
- During this apprenticeship period, you must have a $50,000 surety bond.
- After completing your apprenticeship, you must take and pass the 3-20 Public Adjuster exam with PearsonVue.
- You will need a $50,000 surety bond to cover the license period.
- Apply for the 3-20 Florida Public Adjuster License.
The full list of requirements from the Department of Financial Services can also be found on the Florida Public Adjuster Webpage.
Florida Public Adjuster Continuing Education
Public adjusters must complete 24 hours of continuing education hours which are due biennially by the end of licensee’s birth month. As of July 2023, public adjusters in Florida can take any approved education courses and receive elective credit to renew their license. In the past, courses for independent adjusters did not meet the state’s public adjuster CE requirements, but that has changed.
There is ONE EXCEPTION: public adjusters do need to complete a specific Florida Law and Ethics Update course with course authority CE 5-320.
For approved CE courses, visit our Florida adjuster continuing education page. We do offer a public adjuster approved 4-Hour Law & Ethics Update Course. Any of the additional courses you see listed on that page are also good for continuing education credit for public adjusters. We also offer a complete 24 hour CE package specifically designed for public adjusters.
What if I’m not a Florida Resident?
For nonresidents, the process is very similar. However, you must have been a licensed public adjuster in your home state for at least 1 year.
To obtain your 73-20 Nonresident All-Lines Adjuster License:
- Show proof of a public adjuster license in your resident state. Proof must be verifiable by the National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC). You must have been licensed and working continuously for a minimum of 12 months.
- Get a $50,000 surety bond to cover the license period
- Apply for the 73-20 license, including getting your fingerprints submitted.
- Upon approval, take and pass the 3-20 Public Adjuster exam with PearsonVue.
The full list of requirements from the Department of Financial Services can also be found on the Florida Nonresident Public Adjuster Webpage.
If you have any questions about the Florida 3-20 license, or the licensing process, don’t hesitate to contact us. We are here to help.