Delaware residents, follow our step-by-step guide below to get your Delaware insurance claims adjuster license. We’ve also included information on how to renew your license and what reciprocity looks like for DE adjusters so you’ll have everything you need to obtain and maintain your license.
Not a Delaware resident? Visit the Delaware Department of Insurance website to see details on getting your nonresident license.
Let’s get started!
#1: Meet the Basic Requirements for the Delaware Adjuster License
Before you start taking steps to get your resident adjuster license, make sure you meet Delaware’s basic requirements.
- Be at least 18 years of age
- Applicants must provide a valid residence or business address in the state of Delaware
If you meet these basic requirements, it’s time to strategize how to ace the Delaware Adjuster state exams.
#2: Prepare for the Delaware Adjuster License State Exams
Delaware doesn’t offer a Property & Casualty (P&C) or All-Lines license like most states do. Instead, they have separate licenses, and therefore separate exams, for each line of authority: Property Adjuster, Casualty Adjuster, and Motor Vehicle Adjuster.
We recommend taking both the AdjusterPro Property and the Casualty Exam Prep Courses. This will allow you to cover most standard claims and makes you far more attractive to employers than if you held only one or the other. If you’re interested in working auto claims, taking our Motor Vehicle Adjuster Exam Prep is also important.
While pre-licensing courses aren’t required by the state, AdjusterPro’s Delaware exam prep courses will fully prepare you to ace the state exams.
Our courses have been rigorously prepared and are regularly updated. Our online classroom allows you to print reference materials, take practice tests, and even create your own quizzes to help with subjects you are struggling with. Once you’re consistently making 90% on your practice tests and passing all the quizzes with flying colors…it’s exam time!
#3: Register for and Pass the Delaware Adjuster License State Exams
Register for and take your state exams through PearsonVue Delaware. You can schedule more than one exam on the same day if you choose but make sure to allow yourself time to prep for the second test and sign-in again with the testing center. If you are concerned about scheduling two tests or are having issues with the online system, PearsonVue is available by phone to answer questions or schedule reservations.
PearsonVue Call Center: 1-800-274-0455
Delaware exams are scored on a scaled system. Raw scores are converted into scaled scores that can range from 0 to 100. The scaled score that is reported is neither the number of questions answered correctly nor the percentage of questions answered correctly. Any score below the minimum required passing score indicates how close the candidate came to passing, rather than the actual number or percentage of questions the candidate answered correctly. Some exams require a scaled score of 70 to pass and others require a scaled score of 80 to pass. The passing score will be listed on your score report.
- Property Adjuster Exam: 50 questions, 1 hour and 15 minutes
- Casualty Adjuster Exam: 50 questions, 1 hour and 30 minutes
- Motor Vehicle Adjuster Exam: 50 questions, 1 hour
How to Become an Insurance Adjuster in 5 Steps
Getting your home state or designated home state license is a great start. See what else it takes to establish a successful career in the insurance claims industry.
#4: Submit an Application for Your Delaware Adjuster License(s)
Once you pass the exam, submit an application for your adjuster license(s) through NIPR. Each license will require a separate application and fees.
You can check to see if your licenses have been issued at SBS Delaware.
#5: Process and Submit Fingerprints for a Background Check
Delaware requires applicants to complete a criminal history background check through fingerprints. Information on how to get fingerprinted is available on the Delaware State Police website.
Applicants must submit a Delaware State Criminal History Check and an FBI Criminal History Check. Both reports should be faxed to 302-736-7906 within 90 days of obtaining fingerprints and submitting your adjuster license application
#6: Complete Continuing Education and License Renewal Requirements
Once you have your license, you’ll need to complete some additional steps every few years to keep it active. Delaware adjusters are required to complete 12 hours of continuing education (CE) every two years.
The 24 hours must include at least 3 hours of Ethics continuing education. You cannot receive credit for any course more than once in any reporting period. Excess CE credits can be rolled over into the next compliance cycle.
Renew your license through NIPR.
AdjusterPro offers over 40 hours of state-approved continuing education courses for Delaware adjusters, including the required ethics course. Courses can be purchased individually or as a discounted bundle.
Additional Information for Delaware Insurance Adjusters
Now that you know how to become an adjuster, let’s take a detailed look at the fees and costs of getting and maintaining your license.
Delaware Adjuster Licensing Fees
- AdjusterPro Delaware Property, Casualty, and Motor Vehicle Exam Prep Courses: $139 each
- State Exam Fee: $90 each
- Licensing Fee: $100 each
- Background Check Fee: State: $52, Federal: $18
- License Renewal Fee: $100 each
Delaware Adjuster License Reciprocity
Reciprocity means an adjuster holding a home state license can apply for an adjuster license in another state without having to take that state’s exam. If you want to learn more about reciprocity and why it’s vital to your success, visit our Reciprocity: The Truth About Adjuster Licensing Agreements Between States blog article.
Fees for reciprocal licenses vary by state, but on average you can expect to pay between $40 and $60 per application, although a few states charge up to $120. To see what states will offer reciprocal licensing privileges to Delaware adjusters, visit our Delaware Adjuster Reciprocity Map. At the bottom of the page, we also offer a downloadable guide to help you prioritize which reciprocal licenses you should get first.
Delaware grants reciprocal licenses to adjusters who are licensed in their home state or who hold a Designated Home State (DHS) license.
Delaware Department of Insurance Contact Information
Website: Delaware Department of Insurance
1351 West North Street
Dover, DE 19904
Phone: (302) 674-7390
Obtaining your home state license is the first step to a career as an insurance adjuster. Once you have your Delaware adjuster license, you should apply for reciprocal licenses so you can work in more states, making you more attractive to potential employers.
No matter where you’re at in your insurance adjusting career, we can help.