Idaho residents, follow our step-by-step guide below to get your Idaho insurance claims adjuster license. We’ve also included information on how to renew your license and what reciprocity looks like for ID adjusters so you’ll have everything you need to obtain and maintain your license.
Let’s get started!
#1: Meet the Basic Requirements for the Idaho Independent Adjuster License
Before you start taking steps to get your adjuster license, make sure you meet Idaho’s basic requirements.
- Be at least 21 years of age
- Be trustworthy, with good character, reputation, morals, integrity, and financial responsibility
- Not have been convicted or pled guilty to a felony or a misdemeanor involving moral depravity
If you meet these basic requirements, it’s time to strategize how to ace the Idaho Adjuster state exam.
#2: Prepare for the Idaho Adjuster License State Exam
While a pre-licensing course isn’t required by the state, we highly recommend you take the AdjusterPro Idaho Adjuster Exam Prep Course so you’ll be fully prepared to ace the state exam.
Our course has been rigorously prepared and is regularly updated. Our online classroom allows you to print reference materials, take practice tests, and even create your own quizzes to help with subjects you are struggling with. Once you’re consistently making 90% on your practice tests and passing all the quizzes with flying colors…it’s exam time!
#3: Register for and Pass the Idaho Adjuster License State Exam
Register for and take your Idaho state exam through PSI.
The exam is comprised of 50 questions and you will be given 90 minutes to complete your exam. You must score at least 70% to pass.
How to Become an Insurance Adjuster in 5 Steps
Getting your home state or designated home state license is a great start. See what else it takes to establish a successful career in the claims industry.
#4: Submit Fingerprints and Criminal Background Check Release Form
All Idaho resident applicants are required to submit their fingerprints and a CHRI Request and Release form as part of their application process.
PSI handles fingerprinting services for the Idaho Department of Insurance. You may walk-in to one of the approved locations during the designated times listed on the PSI Instructions Page. Fingerprinting is only done on a first-come, first-serve basis. You cannot schedule an appointment.
#5: Submit an Application for Your Idaho Adjuster License
Check to see if your Idaho Adjuster License has been issued through the IDOI Licensing Search Page.
#6: Complete Idaho Continuing Education and License Renewal Requirements
Once you have your license, you’ll need to complete some additional steps every few years to keep it active. Resident Idaho adjusters are required to complete 24 hours of continuing education (CE) every two years. The 24 hours must include:
- 3 Hours of Ethics
You cannot receive credit for any course more than once in any CE reporting period. Excess CE credits cannot be applied to the next compliance cycle.
Idaho independent adjuster licenses are good for two years and expire on the last day of the licensee’s birth month. You can renew your license electronically or by mail through IDOI Renewal Information.
AdjusterPro offers over 40 hours of state-approved continuing education courses for Idaho adjusters. View Continuing Education Courses for Idaho Insurance Adjusters.
Additional Information for Idaho Insurance Adjusters
Now that you know how to become an adjuster, let’s take a detailed look at the fees and costs of getting and maintaining your license.
Idaho Adjuster Licensing Fees
- AdjusterPro Idaho Exam Prep Course: $179
- Exam Fee: $60
- Licensing Fee: $80
- Fingerprinting & Background Check Fee: $70
- License Renewal Fee: $60
Idaho Adjuster License Reciprocity
Reciprocity means an adjuster holding a home state license can apply for an adjuster license in another state without having to take that state’s exam. If you want to learn more about reciprocity and why it’s vital to your success, visit our Reciprocity: The Truth About Adjuster Licensing Agreements Between States blog article.
Fees for reciprocal licenses vary by state, but on average you can expect to pay between $40 and $60 per application, although a few states charge up to $120. To see what states will offer reciprocal licensing privileges to Idaho adjusters, visit our Idaho Adjuster Reciprocity Map. At the bottom of the page, we also offer a downloadable guide to help you prioritize which reciprocal licenses you should get first.
Idaho grants reciprocal licenses to adjusters who hold a license in their home state. Idaho will also accept a Designated Home State (DHS) license for adjusters whose home state does not license.
Idaho Department of Insurance Contact Information
Website: Idaho Department of Insurance
Idaho Department of Insurance
PO Box 83720
Boise, ID 83720
Email: Use IDOI Contact Form
Obtaining your home state license is the first step to a career as an insurance adjuster. Once you become a licensed insurance claims adjuster in Idaho, you should apply for reciprocal licenses so you can work in more states, making you more attractive to potential employers.
No matter where you’re at in your insurance adjusting career, we can help.