Kentucky residents, follow our step-by-step guide below to get your Kentucky insurance claims adjuster license. We’ve also included information on how to renew your Kentucky license and what reciprocity looks like for KY adjusters so you’ll have everything you need to obtain and maintain your license.
Not a Kentucky resident? Visit the Kentucky Department of Insurance Website to see details on getting your DHS or nonresident license.
Let’s get started!
#1: Meet the Basic Requirements for the Kentucky Adjuster License
Before you start taking steps to get your resident adjuster license, make sure you meet Kentucky’s basic requirements.
- Be at least 18 years of age
- Be trustworthy and of good reputation
- Be financially responsible
- Be competent to exercise the license
- Have an office accessible to the public
- Applicants who are non-citizens must provide a copy of work authorization or green card
If you meet these basic requirements, it’s time to strategize how to ace the Kentucky adjuster state exam.
#2: Prepare for the Kentucky Adjuster License State Exam
While a pre-licensing course isn’t required by the state, we highly recommend you take the AdjusterPro Kentucky Adjuster Exam Prep Course so you’ll be fully prepared to ace the state exam.
Our course has been rigorously prepared and is regularly updated. Our online classroom allows you to print reference materials, take practice tests, and even create your own quizzes to help with subjects you are struggling with. Once you’re consistently making 90% on your practice tests and passing all the quizzes with flying colors…it’s exam time!
#3: Submit an Initial Application for Your Kentucky Adjuster License
Kentucky requires candidates to submit an application prior to registering for or taking the state adjuster exam.
Candidates should complete and submit their application through NIPR. After the department processes your application, you must register for a Kentucky Online Gateway (KOG) Account, which you will use to schedule your exam.
After the Department processes your application/registration, you can search your name via our Individual/Business Entity Search.
#4: Register for and Pass the Kentucky Adjuster License State Exam
Register for and take your state exam through your Kentucky Online Gateway account.
How to Become an Insurance Adjuster in 5 Steps
Getting your home state or designated home state license is a great start. See what else it takes to establish a successful career in the insurance claims industry.
#5: Submit a Kentucky Background Check
After passing your state adjuster exam, applicants are required to obtain a background check through the Kentucky CourtNet System. Online requests are usually processed in one to two business days.
You can check to see if your Kentucky Adjuster License has been issued through your Online Gateway Account.
#6: Complete Kentucky Adjuster Continuing Education and License Renewal Requirements
Once you have your license, you’ll need to complete some additional steps every few years to keep it active.
Resident Kentucky adjusters are required to complete 24 hours of continuing education (CE) every two years. The 24 hours must include at least 3 hours of Ethics. CE must be completed by the last day of your birth month, odd or even-numbered years, depending on the year you were born.
Renew your license through NIPR.
AdjusterPro doesn’t currently offer continuing education courses for Kentucky but we are working to change that so stay tuned!
Additional Information for Kentucky Insurance Adjusters
Now that you know how to become an adjuster, let’s take a detailed look at the fees and costs of getting and maintaining your license.
Kentucky Adjuster Licensing Fees
- AdjusterPro Kentucky Exam Prep Course: $179
- State Exam Fee: $50
- Licensing Fee: $100 per line of authority (P&C, Crop, or Workers’ Comp)
- Background Check Fee: $20
- License Renewal Fee: $50
Kentucky Adjuster License Reciprocity
Reciprocity means an adjuster holding a home state license can apply for an adjuster license in another state without having to take that state’s exam. If you want to learn more about reciprocity and why it’s vital to your success, visit our Reciprocity: The Truth About Adjuster Licensing Agreements Between States blog article.
Fees for reciprocal licenses vary by state, but on average you can expect to pay between $40 and $60 per application, although a few states charge up to $120. To see what states will offer reciprocal licensing privileges to Kentucky adjusters, visit our Kentucky Adjuster Reciprocity Map. At the bottom of the page, we also offer a downloadable guide to help you prioritize which reciprocal licenses you should get first.
Kentucky grants reciprocal licenses to adjusters who are licensed in their home state or adjusters who hold a Designated Home State (DHS) license, as long as the home or DHS state requires an examination.
Kentucky Insurance Department Contact Information
Website: Kentucky Department of Insurance
Department of Insurance
500 Mero Street, 2 SE 11
Frankfort, KY 40601
Obtaining your home state license is the first step to a career as an insurance adjuster. Once you have your Kentucky home state or designated home state license, you should apply for reciprocal licenses so you can work in more states, making you more attractive to potential employers.
No matter where you’re at in your insurance adjusting career, we can help.