Maine residents, follow our step-by-step guide below to get your Maine insurance claims adjuster license. We’ve also included information on how to renew your Maine license and what reciprocity looks like for ME adjusters so you’ll have everything you need to obtain and maintain your license.
Not a Maine resident? Visit the Maine Professional & Financial Regulation Website to see details on getting your DHS or nonresident license.
Let’s get started!
#1: Meet the Basic Requirements for the Maine P&C Adjuster License
Before you start taking steps to get your adjuster license, make sure you meet Maine’s basic requirements.
- Be at least 18 years of age
That’s it! If you’re 18, it’s time to strategize how to ace the Maine Adjuster state exam.
#2: Prepare for the Maine P&C Adjuster License State Exam
While a pre-licensing course isn’t required by the state, we highly recommend you take the AdjusterPro Maine Adjuster Exam Prep Course so you’ll be fully prepared to ace the state exam.
Our course has been rigorously prepared and is regularly updated. Our online classroom allows you to print reference materials, take practice tests, and even create your own quizzes to help with subjects you are struggling with. Once you’re consistently making 90% on your practice tests and passing all the quizzes with flying colors…it’s exam time!
#3: Register for and Pass the Maine Adjuster License State Exam
Register for and take your Maine Property & Casualty Adjuster state exam through PearsonVUE Maine.
The exam is comprised of 50 questions and you must score at least 70% to pass. If you do not pass, you will need to register, test, and pay the fees again. You will be given one hour to complete the exam.
How to Become an Insurance Adjuster in 5 Steps
Getting your home state or designated home state license is a great start. See what else it takes to establish a successful career in the claims industry.
#4: Submit an Application for Your Maine License
Once you pass the exam, you can submit an application for your adjuster license and check to see if your license has been issued through NIPR.
#5: Complete Maine Continuing Education and License Renewal Requirements
Once you have your license, you’ll need to renew it every few years to keep it active. Resident Maine adjusters are not required to complete continuing education hours to renew their licenses.
Maine residents’ adjuster renewal date is 10/01 during even-numbered years. Non-resident adjusters’ renewal dates are 01/01 during even-numbered years.
You can renew your Maine license through NIPR or manually. If you want to renew manually, follow the directions on the renewal notice you will receive in the mail.
Additional Information for Maine Adjusters
Now that you know how to become an adjuster, let’s take a detailed look at the fees and costs of getting and maintaining your license.
Maine Adjuster Licensing Fees
- AdjusterPro Maine Exam Prep Course: $179
- Exam Fee: $55
- Licensing Fee: $30
- Application Fee: $15
- License Renewal Fee: $30 (+ $15 if you renew through NIPR)
Maine Adjuster License Reciprocity
Reciprocity means an adjuster holding a home state license can apply for an adjuster license in another state without having to take that state’s exam. If you want to learn more about reciprocity and why it’s vital to your success, visit our Reciprocity: The Truth About Adjuster Licensing Agreements Between States blog article.
Fees for reciprocal licenses vary by state, but on average you can expect to pay between $40 and $60 per application, although a few states charge up to $120. To see what states will offer reciprocal licensing privileges to Maine adjusters, visit our Maine Adjuster Reciprocity Map. At the bottom of the page, we also offer a downloadable guide to help you prioritize which reciprocal licenses you should get first.
Maine grants reciprocal licenses to adjusters who are licensed in their home state. Maine will also accept a Designated Home State (DHS) license from an adjuster whose home state does not license.
Maine Insurance Department Contact Information
Website: Maine Bureau of Insurance
Mailing Address: Department of Professional & Financial Regulation
Bureau of Insurance
#34 State House Station
Augusta, ME 04333-0034
Physical Address: Department of Professional & Financial Regulation
Bureau of Insurance
76 Northern Avenue
Gardiner, Maine 04345
Obtaining your home state license is the first step to a career as an insurance adjuster. Once you become a licensed insurance claims adjuster in Maine, you should apply for reciprocal licenses so you can work in more states, making you more attractive to potential employers.
No matter where you’re at in your insurance adjusting career, we can help.