Michigan residents, follow our step-by-step guide below to get your Michigan insurance claims adjuster license. We’ve also included information on how to renew your Michigan license and what reciprocity looks like for MI adjusters so you’ll have everything you need to obtain and maintain your license.
Not a Michigan resident? Visit the Michigan DIFS website to see details on getting your DHS or nonresident license.
Let’s get started!
#1: Meet the Basic Requirements for the Michigan Adjuster License
Before you start taking steps to get your resident adjuster license, make sure you meet Michigan’s basic requirements.
- Be at least 18 years of age
- Review Michigan’s Application Background Questions
Michigan requires applicants to complete a thorough background questionnaire in conjunction with their license application. Failure to answer these questions, provide proper documentation, or giving false answers may result in denial of the license.
While the background check is part of the application process detailed below (#3), we recommend reviewing what is required before you pursue a Michigan Adjuster License.
If you meet these basic requirements, it’s time to strategize how to ace the Michigan Adjuster state exam.
#2: Prepare for the Michigan Adjuster License State Exam
While a pre-licensing course isn’t required by the state, we highly recommend you take the AdjusterPro Michigan Adjuster Exam Prep Course so you’ll be fully prepared to ace the state exam.
Our course has been rigorously prepared and is regularly updated. Our online classroom allows you to print reference materials, take practice tests, and even create your own quizzes to help with subjects you are struggling with. Once you’re consistently making 90% on your practice tests and passing all the quizzes with flying colors…it’s exam time!
#3: Register for and Pass the Michigan Adjuster License State Exam
Register for and take your state exam through PSI. The exam name is MI Independent Adjuster with Workers’ Compensation Authority.
The exam is 100 questions and you must score at least 70% to pass. Candidates who score below 70% will need to retake the exam and pay the fees again. You will be given 2 hours to complete the exam.
How to Become an Insurance Adjuster in 5 Steps
Getting your home state or designated home state license is a great start. See what else it takes to establish a successful career in the insurance claims industry.
#4: Submit an Application for Your Michigan Adjuster License
Once you pass the exam, submit an application for your adjuster license at National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR).
Applicants are required to answer several background information questions. The answers are reviewed by the Department of Insurance and Financial Services (DIFS) Insurance Licensing staff. In addition to reviewing the application, DIFS staff members conduct several background checks on each applicant. See complete details at Michigan’s Application Background Questions.
Check to see if your license has been issued at DIFS Insurance Agent Locator.
#5: Complete Michigan Continuing Education and License Renewal Requirements
Resident Michigan adjusters are not required to complete continuing education hours as part of the license renewal process.
Adjuster licenses, both resident and nonresident, must be renewed annually between February 1 and March 31st. The cost is $5.00. Renew your license at DIFS Licensing Express Renewal.
Additional Information for Michigan Insurance Adjusters
Now that you know how to become an adjuster, let’s take a detailed look at the fees and costs of getting and maintaining your license.
Michigan Adjuster Licensing Fees
- AdjusterPro Michigan Exam Prep Course: $179
- State Exam Fee: $41
- Licensing Fee: $15
- NIPR Processing Fee: $5
- License Renewal Fee: $5
Michigan Adjuster License Reciprocity
Reciprocity means an adjuster holding a home state license can apply for an adjuster license in another state without having to take that state’s exam. If you want to learn more about reciprocity and why it’s vital to your success, visit our Reciprocity: The Truth About Adjuster Licensing Agreements Between States blog article.
Fees for reciprocal licenses vary by state, but on average you can expect to pay between $40 and $60 per application, although a few states charge up to $120. To see what states will offer reciprocal licensing privileges to Michigan adjusters, visit our Michigan Adjuster Reciprocity Map. At the bottom of the page, we also offer a downloadable guide to help you prioritize which reciprocal licenses you should get first.
Michigan grants reciprocal licenses to adjusters who are licensed in their home state or adjusters who hold a Designated Home State (DHS) license, as long as the home or DHS state requires an examination.
Michigan Department of Insurance and Financial Services Contact Information
PO Box 30220
Lansing, MI 48909-7720
Phone: 517-284-8800 or 877-999-6442 (Toll-Free)
Obtaining your home state license is the first step to a career as an insurance adjuster. Once you have your Michigan adjuster license, you should apply for reciprocal licenses so you can work in more states, making you more attractive to potential employers.
No matter where you’re at in your insurance adjusting career, we can help.