Minnesota residents, follow our step-by-step guide below to get your Minnesota insurance claims adjuster license. We’ve also included information on how to renew your Minnesota license and what reciprocity looks like for MN adjusters so you’ll have everything you need to obtain and maintain your license.
Not a Minnesota resident? Visit the Minnesota Commerce Department website to see details on getting your DHS or nonresident license.
Let’s get started!
#1: Meet the Basic Requirements for the Minnesota Adjuster License
Before you start taking steps to get your resident adjuster license, make sure you meet Minnesota’s basic requirements.
- Be at least 18 years old
- Be competent and trustworthy
- Not be involved in any activity that would cause license removal or suspension for three years prior to application
If you meet these basic requirements, it’s time to take the required course and strategize how to ace your state exam.
#2: Prepare for the Minnesota Adjuster License State Exam
While a pre-licensing course isn’t required by the state, we highly recommend you take the AdjusterPro Minnesota Adjuster Exam Prep Course so you’ll be fully prepared to ace the state exam.
Our course has been rigorously prepared and is regularly updated. Our online classroom allows you to print reference materials, take practice tests, and even create your own quizzes to help with subjects you are struggling with. Once you’re consistently making 90% on your practice tests and passing all the quizzes with flying colors…it’s exam time!
#3: Register for and Pass the Minnesota Adjuster License State Exam
Register for and take your Minnesota state exam through PearsonVue. When asked to select pre-licensing provider from the drop-down menu, select 9999 Other, Undeclared (because pre-licensing is not required for this license.
*See information in #4 on scheduling to get your fingerprints processed.
How to Become an Insurance Adjuster in 5 Steps
Getting your home state or designated home state license is a great start. See what else it takes to establish a successful career in the insurance claims industry.
#4: Submit an Application for Your Minnesota Adjuster License
Minnesota requires applicants to submit a fingerprint background check with their license application. For convenience, you can schedule an appointment to get fingerprinted at a PearsonVue test center when you take your exam. Walk-ins are not accepted for fingerprinting. Candidates may also get fingerprinted at a local police station.
To see a complete list of instructions, including PearsonVue fingerprint locations, visit the Minnesota Department of Commerce website and scroll down to the ‘Fingerprinting’ section.
After fingerprinting, submit your Minnesota adjuster application through Sircon.
You can check to see if your license has been issued at NIPR.
#5: Complete Minnesota Continuing Education and License Renewal Requirements
Once you have your license, you’ll need to complete some additional steps every few years to keep it active.
Minnesota adjusters must complete 24 hours of insurance continuing education before their license renewal deadline, and at least 12 of those hours must not be sponsored by, offered by, or affiliated with an insurance company or its agents.
The 24 hours must include 3 hours of ethics-related continuing education. You may not repeat a continuing education course for credit during the same licensing period.
Before registering for any CE course, you should ensure that the course provider is active and in good standing with the Minnesota Commerce Department and that the MCD has approved the course for continuing education credit.
You can see approved CE options and renew your Minnesota license through Sircon.
While AdjusterPro does not currently offer continuing education for Minnesota adjusters, we are working to change that so please check back.
Additional Information for Minnesota Insurance Adjusters
Now that you know how to become an adjuster, let’s take a detailed look at the fees and costs of getting and maintaining your license.
Minnesota Adjuster Licensing Fees
- AdjusterPro Minnesota Exam Prep Course: $179
- Exam Fee: $19
- Licensing Application Fee: $50
- Fingerprinting Fee: $67.25
- License Renewal Fee: $50 + $25 technology surcharge
Minnesota Adjuster License Reciprocity
Reciprocity means an adjuster holding a home state license can apply for an adjuster license in another state without having to take that state’s exam. If you want to learn more about reciprocity and why it’s vital to your success, visit our Reciprocity: The Truth About Adjuster Licensing Agreements Between States blog article.
Fees for reciprocal licenses vary by state, but on average you can expect to pay between $40 and $60 per application, although a few states charge up to $120. To see what states will offer reciprocal licensing privileges to Minnesota adjusters, visit our Minnesota Adjuster Reciprocity Map. At the bottom of the page, we also offer a downloadable guide to help you prioritize which reciprocal licenses you should get first.
Minnesota grants reciprocal licenses to adjusters who are licensed in their home state. Minnesota will also accept a Designated Home State (DHS) license for adjusters whose home state does not license.
Minnesota Commerce Department Contact Information
Minnesota Commerce Department-Licensing
85 7th Place East, Suite 280
Saint Paul, MN 55101
Obtaining your home state license is the first step to a career as an insurance adjuster. Once you become a licensed insurance claims adjuster in Minnesota, you should apply for reciprocal licenses so you can work in more states, making you more attractive to potential employers.
No matter where you’re at in your insurance adjusting career, we can help.