Nevada residents, follow our step-by-step guide below to get your Nevada insurance claims adjuster license. We’ve also included information on how to renew your license and what reciprocity looks like for NV adjusters so you’ll have everything you need to obtain and maintain your license.
Not a Nevada resident? The state does not offer a designated home state (DHS) or nonresident license. Nonresidents wishing to adjust in Nevada must be:
- Affiliated with a Nevada resident Independent Adjuster and apply for an ‘Associate Adjuster’ license through Sircon or;
- Licensed in their home state and apply for a reciprocal license
Let’s get started!
#1: Meet the Basic Requirements for the Nevada P&C Adjuster License
Before you start taking steps to get your adjuster license, make sure you meet Nevada’s basic requirements.
- Be at least 18 years old
- Be able to declare Nevada as your home state
- Be an independent contractor
- Be competent, trustworthy, financially responsible and of good reputation
- Never have convicted of forgery, embezzlement, obtaining money under false pretenses, larceny, extortion, or conspiracy to commit fraud
If you meet these basic requirements, it’s time to strategize how to ace the Nevada P&C Adjuster state exam.
Licensing Note: This article details instructions for the P&C Adjuster license but Nevada also licenses Workers’ Comp Adjusters. If you are interested, AdjusterPro does offer a course for that line of authority. As you move through the licensing process, make sure to choose the right line of authority in your courses, tests, applications, etc.
#2: Prepare for the Nevada Adjuster License State Exam
While a pre-licensing course isn’t required by the state, we highly recommend you take the AdjusterPro Nevada P&C Adjuster Exam Prep Course so you’ll be fully prepared to ace the state exam.
Our course has been rigorously prepared and is regularly updated. Our online classroom allows you to print reference materials, take practice tests, and even create your own quizzes to help with subjects you are struggling with. Once you’re consistently making 90% on your practice tests and passing all the quizzes with flying colors…it’s exam time!
#3: Register for and Pass the Nevada P&C Adjuster State Exam
Register for and take your state exam through PearsonVue Nevada.
Important note: Nevada’s licensing requirements have changed recently but those changes have not been updated on the Nevada Department of Insurance website. The website still states that adjusters need to take and provide proof of completing an approved pre-licensing course before they can take the state exam. This is no longer the case. No pre-licensing courses are required to take the Nevada state exam.
The exam is comprised of 90 questions and you must score at least 67% to pass. Candidates who score below 67% will need to retake the exam and pay the exam fees again. You will be given 2 hours to complete the exam.
Helpful Tip: Applicants are required to submit fingerprints for a criminal history background check. You must also submit the Fingerprint Background Waiver with your application. To expedite the application process, the NDOI encourages candidates to get their LiveScan prints done prior to taking their state exam. Detailed instructions are listed in Step #5 below.
How to Become an Insurance Adjuster in 5 Steps
Getting your home state or designated home state license is a great start. See what else it takes to establish a successful career in the insurance claims industry.
#4: Process and Submit Fingerprints for a Background Check
Nevada requires resident applicants to submit their fingerprints electronically for a background check. To make a fingerprinting reservation, candidates should call IdentoGO at (866) 761-8069 or visit PearsonVue West online.
Pearson VUE offers digital fingerprinting at the following test centers but you do need to make an appointment:
- Las Vegas, NV (Flamingo)
- Reno, NV
#5: Submit an Application for Your Nevada P&C Adjuster License
You must upload with your application:
- Your signed Fingerprint Background Waiver Form;
- The receipt for your fingerprints; and
- Any other required supporting documentation, as indicated in the application or on the Division’s website at http://doi.nv.gov.
You can check to see if your license has been issued through the Nevada DOI License Search Page.
#6: Complete Continuing Education and License Renewal Requirements
Once you have your license, you’ll need to complete some additional steps every few years to keep it active. Nevada adjuster licenses are issued for a three-year term and renew at the end of the month on the third anniversary of the issuance of the license.
During the 3 year term, Nevada adjusters are required to complete 24 hours of continuing education (CE). At least 3 of those hours must be in Ethics. You may not take the same course within the three year period and receive CE credit so track and plan your CE hours accordingly. Excess CE credits cannot be applied to the next compliance cycle.
Renew your license through Sircon Nevada.
AdjusterPro offers over 40 hours of state-approved continuing education courses for Nevada adjusters, including the required Ethics course. Courses can be purchased individually or as a discounted bundle.
Additional Information for Nevada Insurance Adjusters
Now that you know how to become an adjuster, let’s take a detailed look at the fees and costs of getting and maintaining your license.
Nevada Adjuster Licensing Fees
- AdjusterPro Nevada P&C Exam Prep Course: $179
- State Exam Fee: $49
- Fingerprinting Fee: $50.25
- Licensing Fee: $185
- License Renewal Fee: $185
Nevada Adjuster License Reciprocity
Reciprocity means an adjuster holding a home state license can apply for an adjuster license in another state without having to take that state’s exam. If you want to learn more about reciprocity and why it’s vital to your success, visit our Reciprocity: The Truth About Adjuster Licensing Agreements Between States blog article.
Fees for reciprocal licenses vary by state, but on average you can expect to pay between $40 and $60 per application, although a few states charge up to $120. To see what states will offer reciprocal licensing privileges to Nevada adjusters, visit our Nevada Adjuster Reciprocity Map. At the bottom of the page, we also offer a downloadable guide to help you prioritize which reciprocal licenses you should get first.
Nevada grants reciprocal licenses to adjusters who are licensed in their home state or adjusters who hold a Designated Home State (DHS) license, as long as the home or DHS state requires an examination.
Nevada Division of Insurance Contact Information
Website: Nevada Division of Insurance
Nevada Division of Insurance
1818 East College Pkway, Ste 103
Carson City, NV 89706
Phone: (775) 687-0700
Fax: (775) 687-0797
Obtaining your home state license is the first step to a career as an insurance adjuster. Once you have your Nevada adjuster license, you should apply for reciprocal licenses so you can work in more states, making you more attractive to potential employers.
No matter where you’re at in your insurance adjusting career, we can help.