Wyoming residents, follow our step-by-step guide below to get your Wyoming insurance claims adjuster license. We’ve also included information on how to renew your Wyoming license and what reciprocity looks like for WY adjusters so you’ll have everything you need to obtain and maintain your license.
Not a Wyoming resident? Visit the Wyoming Insurance Department Website to see details on getting your DHS or nonresident license.
Let’s get started!
#1: Meet the Basic Requirements for the Wyoming Adjuster License
Before you start taking steps to get your resident adjuster license, make sure you meet Wyoming’s basic requirements.
- Be an adult (age 18)
- Be a resident of Wyoming
Following a felony conviction, the state will deny a license application until the completion of all terms and conditions of sentencing, including probation and the payment of restitution.
If you meet these basic requirements, it’s time to strategize how to ace the Wyoming Adjuster state exam.
#2: Prepare for the Wyoming Adjuster License State Exam
While a pre-licensing course isn’t required by the state, we highly recommend you take the AdjusterPro Wyoming Adjuster Exam Prep Course so you’ll be fully prepared to ace the state exam.
Our course has been rigorously prepared and is regularly updated. Our online classroom allows you to print reference materials, take practice tests, and even create your own quizzes to help with subjects you are struggling with. Once you’re consistently making 90% on your practice tests and passing all the quizzes with flying colors…it’s exam time!
#3: Register for and Pass the Wyoming Adjuster License State Exam
Register for and take your state exam through PearsonVUE Wyoming.
The exam is comprised of 100 questions and you must score at least 70% to pass. Candidates who score below 70% will need to retake the exam and pay the exam fees again. You will be given 2 hours to complete your exam.
How to Become an Insurance Adjuster in 5 Steps
Getting your home state or designated home state license is a great start. See what else it takes to establish a successful career in the claims industry.
#4: Submit an Application for Your Wyoming Adjuster License
After receiving your application and fees, the Wyoming Department of Insurance will send you a fingerprinting packet for the state’s Criminal History Record Check. Process and submit your fingerprints according to the instructions in the packet.
Applications will not be fully processed until your fingerprints have been received and processed. Your license will be issued once the Department receives your background report and has determined you meet all requirements and are fit for licensing.
You can check to see if your Wyoming Adjuster License has been issued through Sircon.
#5: Complete Wyoming Adjuster Continuing Education and License Renewal Requirements
Once you have your license, you’ll need to complete some additional steps every few years to keep it active. Resident Wyoming adjusters are required to complete 24 hours of continuing education (CE) every two years. The 24 hours must include:
- 3 Hours of Ethics
A Wyoming licensee may not receive credit for the same course more than once every 48 months (4 years). Carry-over credit hours may be used towards your 24 hours of required continuing education. A ‘carry-over credit hour’ is a CE credit hour earned in the 120 days before the licensing continuation date that is in excess of the 24 hours of required CE per two 2-year licensing period, which may be applied to the next continuing education period. Carry-over credit hours may NOT count towards the required ETHICS hours. Be sure to track and plan your CE courses accordingly.
AdjusterPro offers over 40 hours of state-approved continuing education courses for Wyoming adjusters.
Additional Information for Wyoming Insurance Adjusters
Now that you know how to become an adjuster, let’s take a detailed look at the fees and costs of getting and maintaining your license.
Wyoming Adjuster Licensing Fees
- AdjusterPro Wyoming Exam Prep Course: $179
- State Exam Fee: $96
- Licensing Fee: $100
- Fingerprinting Fee: $39
- License Renewal Fee: $100
Wyoming Adjuster License Reciprocity
Reciprocity means an adjuster holding a home state license can apply for an adjuster license in another state without having to take that state’s exam. If you want to learn more about reciprocity and why it’s vital to your success, visit our Reciprocity: The Truth About Adjuster Licensing Agreements Between States blog article.
Fees for reciprocal licenses vary by state, but on average you can expect to pay between $40 and $60 per application, although a few states charge up to $120. To see what states will offer reciprocal licensing privileges to Wyoming adjusters, visit our Wyoming Adjuster Reciprocity Map. At the bottom of the page, we also offer a downloadable guide to help you prioritize which reciprocal licenses you should get first.
Wyoming grants reciprocal licenses to adjusters who hold a home state or Designated Home State (DHS) license, as long as that state requires an exam, background and fingerprinting, and 24 hours of CE per renewal period. Due to these requirements, Wyoming does not offer reciprocity to adjusters from the following states: AL, AZ, CT, DE, GA, HI, ME, MI, MS, NV, NM, NY, OR, RI, SC, VT, WA, WV.
Wyoming Insurance Department Contact Information
Website: Wyoming Insurance Department
Wyoming Department of Insurance
106 East 6th Avenue
Cheyenne, WY 82002
Obtaining your home state license is the first step to a career as an insurance adjuster. Once you have your Wyoming home state or designated home state license, you should apply for reciprocal licenses so you can work in more states, making you more attractive to potential employers.
No matter where you’re at in your insurance adjusting career, we can help.