New Hampshire residents, follow our step-by-step guide below to get your New Hampshire insurance claims adjuster license. We’ve also included information on how to renew your New Hampshire license and what reciprocity looks like for NH adjusters so you’ll have everything you need to obtain and maintain your license.
Not a New Hampshire resident? Visit the New Hampshire Insurance Department website to see details on getting your DHS or nonresident license.
Let’s get started!
#1: Meet the Basic Requirements for the New Hampshire Adjuster License
Before you start taking steps to get your adjuster license, make sure you meet New Hampshire’s basic requirements.
- Be at least 18 years of age
- Of good character
That’s it! Now it’s time to strategize how to ace the New Hampshire Adjuster state exam.
#2: Prepare for the New Hampshire Adjuster License State Exam
While a pre-licensing course isn’t required by the state, we highly recommend you take the AdjusterPro New Hampshire Adjuster Exam Prep Course so you’ll be fully prepared to ace the state exam.
Our course has been rigorously prepared and is regularly updated. Our online classroom allows you to print reference materials, take practice tests, and even create your own quizzes to help with subjects you are struggling with. Once you’re consistently making 90% on your practice tests and passing all the quizzes with flying colors…it’s exam time!
#3: Register for and Pass the New Hampshire Adjuster License State Exam
Register for and take your New Hampshire P&C Adjuster 12-75 state exam through Prometric.
The exam is comprised of 150 questions and you must score at least 70% to pass. You will be given 2.5 hours to complete the exam.
How to Become an Insurance Adjuster in 5 Steps
Getting your home state or designated home state license is a great start. See what else it takes to establish a successful career in the claims industry.
#4: Submit an Application for Your New Hampshire Adjuster License
Once you pass the exam, you can submit an application for your adjuster license at New Hampshire Insurance Department (NHID) Adjuster License Application or through NIPR.
Check to see if your license has been issued through SBS.
#5: Complete New Hampshire Continuing Education and License Renewal Requirements
Once you have your license, you’ll need to complete some additional steps every few years to keep it active. Resident New Hampshire adjusters are required to complete 24 hours of continuing education (CE) every two years. The 24 hours must include:
- 3 Hours of Ethics
You cannot receive credit for any course more than once in any CE reporting period. Excess CE credits cannot be applied to the next compliance cycle.
Effective Jan 1, 2020, adjuster licenses will expire the last day of the 2nd birth month from date of issue. Those licensed prior to 1/1/2020 will transition to the birth month cycle upon their next renewal either 10/1/2020 or 10/1/2021.
You can renew your New Hampshire license through NIPR.
AdjusterPro offers over 40 hours of state-approved continuing education courses for New Hampshire adjusters.
Additional Information for New Hampshire Insurance Adjusters
Now that you know how to become an adjuster, let’s take a detailed look at the fees and costs of getting and maintaining your license.
New Hampshire Adjuster Licensing Fees
- AdjusterPro New Hampshire Exam Prep Course: $179
- Exam Fee: $65
- Licensing Fee: $75
- License Renewal Fee: $175
New Hampshire Adjuster License Reciprocity
Reciprocity means an adjuster holding a home state license can apply for an adjuster license in another state without having to take that state’s exam. If you want to learn more about reciprocity and why it’s vital to your success, visit our Reciprocity: The Truth About Adjuster Licensing Agreements Between States blog article.
Fees for reciprocal licenses vary by state, but on average you can expect to pay between $40 and $60 per application, although a few states charge up to $120. To see what states will offer reciprocal licensing privileges to New Hampshire adjusters, visit our New Hampshire Adjuster Reciprocity Map. At the bottom of the page, we also offer a downloadable guide to help you prioritize which reciprocal licenses you should get first.
New Hampshire grants reciprocal licenses to adjusters who are licensed in their home state. New Hampshire will also accept a Designated Home State (DHS) license from an adjuster whose home state does not license.
New Hampshire Insurance Department Contact Information
Website: New Hampshire Insurance Department
New Hampshire Insurance Department
21 South Fruit Street, Suite 14
Concord, NH 03301
Obtaining your home state license is the first step to a career as an insurance adjuster. Once you become a licensed insurance claims adjuster in New Hampshire, you should apply for reciprocal licenses so you can work in more states, making you more attractive to potential employers.
No matter where you’re at in your insurance adjusting career, we can help.