New Mexico residents, follow our step-by-step guide below to get your New Mexico insurance claims adjuster license. We’ve also included information on how to renew your New Mexico license and what reciprocity looks like for NM adjusters so you’ll have everything you need to obtain and maintain your license.
Not a New Mexico resident? Visit the New Mexico Office of Superintendent of Insurance Website to see details on getting your DHS or nonresident license.
Let’s get started!
#1: Meet the Basic Requirements for the New Mexico Adjuster License
Before you start taking steps to get your resident adjuster license, make sure you meet New Mexico’s basic requirements.
- Be at least 18 years old
- Be able to demonstrate a good business reputation, and must intend to engage in a bona fide manner in the business of adjusting insurance claims
- Provide a valid residence address. Residence address may not contain a P.O. Box
- Non-U.S. citizen applicants must provide proof of Visa, Work Permit or Green Card to the state of New Mexico
If you meet these basic requirements, it’s time to strategize how to ace the New Mexico Adjuster state exam.
#2: Prepare for the New Mexico 18-40 Adjuster License State Exam
While a pre-licensing course isn’t required by the state, we highly recommend you take the AdjusterPro New Mexico Adjuster Exam Prep Course so you’ll be fully prepared to ace the state exam. AdjusterPro’s course covers the material for the New Mexico 18-40 (staff or independent) adjuster exam.
Our course has been rigorously prepared and is regularly updated. Our online classroom allows you to print reference materials, take practice tests, and even create your own quizzes to help with subjects you are struggling with. Once you’re consistently making 90% on your practice tests and passing all the quizzes with flying colors…it’s exam time!
#3: Register for and Pass the New Mexico Adjuster License State Exam
Register for and take your state exam through Prometric New Mexico.
The exam is comprised of 50 questions and you must score at least 70% to pass. Candidates who score below 70% will need to retake the exam and pay the exam fee again. You will be given 1 hour to complete the exam.
How to Become an Insurance Adjuster in 5 Steps
Getting your home state or designated home state license is a great start. See what else it takes to establish a successful career in the insurance claims industry.
#4: Submit an Application for Your New Mexico Adjuster License
After passing your licensing exam, you need to complete a few steps for New Mexico’s license application.
Applicants are required to submit a fingerprint background check with their license application. Process and submit your fingerprints through 3M Cogent and attach the Proof of Fingerprinting Submissions Receipt to your application. Full details are available at NM OSI Fingerprint Requirements.
Independent Adjusters must file an original $10,000 surety bond with the New Mexico OSI. The bond should be one executed by an authorized surety insurer. The original bond must be mailed to PLB, PO Box 1689, Santa Fe, NM 87504. The state allows 10 days from the date of the application for the bond to be submitted/received. Additional information and forms can be found at NM OSI Licensing Bureau.
Submit your application for a New Mexico adjuster license at National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR).
If you said “yes” to one of the background questions, you will also need to submit supporting documents electronically via NIPR’s Attachments Warehouse.
You can check to see if your New Mexico Adjuster License has been issued at SBS.
#5: Complete New Mexico Adjuster Continuing Education and License Renewal Requirements
Once you have your license, you’ll need to complete some additional steps every few years to keep it active. Resident New Mexico adjusters are required to complete 24 hours of continuing education (CE) every two years.
The 24 hours must include:
- 3 hours of Ethics
New Mexico adjusters cannot receive CE credit for completion of the same approved course more than once in a compliance cycle (2 years) so you’ll want to track and schedule your CE courses accordingly. Excess CE credits cannot be applied to the next compliance cycle.
Renew your license through NIPR.
AdjusterPro offers over 24 hours of state-approved continuing education courses for New Mexico adjusters, including the required ethics course. Courses can be purchased individually or as a discounted bundle.
Additional Information for New Mexico Insurance Adjusters
Now that you know how to become an adjuster, let’s take a detailed look at the fees and costs of getting and maintaining your license.
New Mexico Adjuster Licensing Fees
- AdjusterPro New Mexico 18-40 Exam Prep Course: $179
- State Exam Fee: $75
- Fingerprinting Fee: $44
- Bond Fee: $100-$200 but will vary depending on your credit rating and other factors
- Licensing Fee: $30
- License Renewal Fee: $60
New Mexico Adjuster License Reciprocity
Reciprocity means an adjuster holding a home state license can apply for an adjuster license in another state without having to take that state’s exam. If you want to learn more about reciprocity and why it’s vital to your success, visit our Reciprocity: The Truth About Adjuster Licensing Agreements Between States blog article.
Fees for reciprocal licenses vary by state, but on average you can expect to pay between $40 and $60 per application, although a few states charge up to $120. To see what states will offer reciprocal licensing privileges to New Mexico adjusters, visit our New Mexico Adjuster Reciprocity Map. At the bottom of the page, we also offer a downloadable guide to help you prioritize which reciprocal licenses you should get first.
New Mexico grants reciprocal licenses to adjusters who are licensed in their home state. New Mexico will also accept a Designated Home State (DHS) license from an adjuster whose home state does not license.
In 2022, New Mexico added the following clarifications to its reciprocity policy:
“The Office of Superintendent of Insurance will accept a DHS license for reciprocity purposes only when the individual’s home state does not require licensure as an adjuster, permit a staff adjuster to be licensed as an independent adjuster, or the individual’s home state licensing requirements do not meet the criteria required by the OSI to become licensed as an adjuster in New Mexico.”
New Mexico Office of Superintendent of Insurance Contact Information
Producer Licensing Bureau
NM Office of Superintendent of Insurance
PO Box 1689
Santa Fe, NM 87504
Obtaining your home state license is the first step to a career as an insurance adjuster. Once you have your New Mexico home state or designated home state license, you should apply for reciprocal licenses so you can work in more states, making you more attractive to potential employers.
No matter where you’re at in your insurance adjusting career, we can help.