Utah residents, follow our step-by-step guide below to get your Utah insurance claims adjuster license. We’ve also included information on how to renew your Utah license and what reciprocity looks like for UT adjusters so you’ll have everything you need to obtain and maintain your license.
Not a Utah resident? Visit the Utah Insurance Department Website to see details on getting your DHS or nonresident license.
Let’s get started!
#1: Meet the Basic Requirements for the Utah Adjuster License
Before you start taking steps to get your resident adjuster license, make sure you meet Utah’s basic requirements.
- Be at least 18 years of age
- Be trustworthy and competent
- Not have any felony convictions or misdemeanors involving any fiduciary breach of trust, forgery, or theft
If you meet these basic requirements, it’s time to strategize how to ace the Utah Adjuster state exam.
#2: Prepare for the Utah Adjuster License State Exam
While a pre-licensing course isn’t required by the state, we highly recommend you take the AdjusterPro Utah Adjuster Exam Prep Course so you’ll be fully prepared to ace the state exam.
Our course has been rigorously prepared and is regularly updated. Our online classroom allows you to print reference materials, take practice tests, and even create your own quizzes to help with subjects you are struggling with. Once you’re consistently making 90% on your practice tests and passing all the quizzes with flying colors…it’s exam time!
#3: Register for and Pass the Utah Adjuster License State Exam
Register for and take your state exam through Prometric Utah.
The exam is comprised of 150 questions and you must score at least 70% to pass. Candidates who score below 70% will need to retake the exam and pay the exam fees again. You will be given 2 hours and 30 minutes to complete the exam.
You will be given your test results immediately following your exam and will submit your adjuster application and process your fingerprints at the Prometric testing center. (Step #4)
How to Become an Insurance Adjuster in 5 Steps
Getting your home state or designated home state license is a great start. See what else it takes to establish a successful career in the insurance claims industry.
#4: Process Fingerprints and Submit Adjuster Application
After you pass your Utah adjuster exam, you’ll get your fingerprints processed and submit your application while at the Prometric testing facility.
The Utah Insurance Department requires all individuals applying for a resident insurance license to be fingerprinted. Fingerprinting must be done at a Prometric test center, using “live scan” technology, which digitally captures and transmits the fingerprints to the Utah Department of Public Safety, Bureau of Criminal Identification (BCI) and FBI, for a criminal history background check.
Immediately after passing your exam, use the kiosk at the test center to complete your license application online via Sircon or NIPR. You must pay the fingerprinting fees with a credit card during the application process.
Print out your Sircon or NIPR application confirmation page. Show the test center supervisor your fingerprinting payment confirmation and your passing score report, then your fingerprints will be scanned.
Fingerprint results will be returned to the Department who will evaluate the results and the license application prior to issuing any license.
To see your license has been approved and issued, go to Sircon Utah and click on “Check license application status” or “Check license renewal status. You can also check by visiting the UID Website and clicking on the “Search for Company & Agent” link.
After review and approval, you will be able to print your license from Sircon. There will be a $5.50 charge. However, if you click on the following link www.produceredge.com and register, you can get a free copy of your license. You will need the license number and last 4 digits of your social security number. If you apply for your license through NIPR, then Sircon will charge a small fee to print your license.
Detailed instructions on this process can be found on the Prometric Utah webpage.
#5: Complete Utah Adjuster Continuing Education and License Renewal Requirements
Once you have your license, you’ll need to complete some additional steps every few years to keep it active. Resident Utah adjusters are required to complete 24 hours of continuing education (CE) every two years.
The 24 hours of CE must:
- Include at least 3 hours of Ethics education.
- Include 12 hours that take place in a classroom or are classroom equivalent type courses (Note: AdjusterPro CE courses do satisfy this requirement)
You cannot receive credit for any course more than once in any CE reporting period. Excess CE hours cannot be carried over into the next compliance cycle.
Renew your license through NIPR or Sircon. Utah Adjuster licenses expire every two years on the last day of the licensee’s birth month. Detailed CE information is available on the UID License Renewal and Reinstatement page.
AdjusterPro offers over 40 hours of state-approved continuing education courses for Utah adjusters. Courses can be purchased individually or as a discounted bundle.
Additional Information for Utah Insurance Adjusters
Now that you know how to become an adjuster, let’s take a detailed look at the fees and costs of getting and maintaining your license.
Utah Adjuster Licensing Fees
- AdjusterPro Utah Exam Prep Course: $179
- State Exam Fee: $32
- Licensing Fee: $75
- Fingerprinting Fees Total: $34.25
- License Renewal Fee: $75
Utah Adjuster License Reciprocity
Reciprocity means an adjuster holding a home state license can apply for an adjuster license in another state without having to take that state’s exam. If you want to learn more about reciprocity and why it’s vital to your success, visit our Reciprocity: The Truth About Adjuster Licensing Agreements Between States blog article.
Fees for reciprocal licenses vary by state, but on average you can expect to pay between $40 and $60 per application, although a few states charge up to $120. To see what states will offer reciprocal licensing privileges to Utah adjusters, visit our Utah Adjuster Reciprocity Map. At the bottom of the page, we also offer a downloadable guide to help you prioritize which reciprocal licenses you should get first.
Utah grants reciprocal licenses to adjusters who are licensed in their home state. Utah will also accept a Designated Home State (DHS) license for adjusters whose home state does not license.
Utah Insurance Department Contact Information
Website: Utah Insurance Department
Utah Insurance Department
4315 S. 2700 W., Suite 2300
Taylorsville, UT 84129
Phone: (801) 957-9240
Fax: (385) 465-6055
Obtaining your home state license is the first step to a career as an insurance adjuster. Once you have your Utah home state or designated home state license, you should apply for reciprocal licenses so you can work in more states, making you more attractive to potential employers.
No matter where you’re at in your insurance adjusting career, we can help.