West Virginia residents, follow our step-by-step guide below to get your West Virginia insurance claims adjuster license. We’ve also included information on how to renew your West Virginia license and what reciprocity looks like for WV adjusters so you’ll have everything you need to obtain and maintain your license.
Not a West Virginia resident? Visit the West Virginia OIC website to see details on getting your DHS or nonresident license.
Let’s get started!
#1: Meet the Basic Requirements for the West Virginia Adjuster License
Before you start taking steps to get your resident adjuster license, make sure you meet West Virginia’s basic requirements.
- Be a resident of West Virginia
- Be trustworthy and competent
- Be at least 18 years of age
If you meet these basic requirements, it’s time to strategize how to ace the West Virginia Adjuster state exam.
#2: Prepare for the West Virginia P&C Adjuster License State Exam
While a pre-licensing course isn’t required by the state, we highly recommend you take the AdjusterPro West Virginia Adjuster Exam Prep Course so you’ll be fully prepared to ace the state exam.
Our course has been rigorously prepared and is regularly updated. Our online classroom allows you to print reference materials, take practice tests, and even create your own quizzes to help with subjects you are struggling with. Once you’re consistently making 90% on your practice tests and passing all the quizzes with flying colors…it’s exam time!
#3: Register for and Pass the West Virginia Adjuster License State Exam
Register for and take your state exam through PearsonVue West Virginia.
The exam is comprised of 75 questions and you must score at least 70% to pass. Candidates who score below 70% will need to retake the exam and pay the exam fee again.
How to Become an Insurance Adjuster in 5 Steps
Getting your home state or designated home state license is a great start. See what else it takes to establish a successful career in the insurance claims industry.
#4: Submit an Application for Your West Virginia Adjuster License
Once you pass the exam, submit the application using West Virginia Offices of the Insurance Commissioner (WVOIC) Application for Adjuster’s License.
Effective July 1, 2021, fingerprints will be required of resident adjusters and those designating West Virginia as their home state. To Schedule your ten-minute fingerprint appointment, simply visit Identigo and enter the following Service Code 228NS5. Or you can contact IdentoGo at 1-855-766-7746 for more details.
You can check to see if your West Virginia Adjuster License has been issued through SBS.
#5: Complete West Virginia Adjuster Continuing Education and License Renewal Requirements
Once you have your license, you’ll need to complete continuing education requirements and renew it every two years to keep it active.
NEW LAW: Starting July 1, 2021, West Virginia adjusters must complete 24 hours every two years (biennium). The 24 hours of general education must consist of at least 3 hours of ethics CE. West Virginia Adjusters will not receive credit for any CE course taken twice in any 24-month period, regardless of their license compliance cycle. Be sure to track and plan your CE courses accordingly.
Renew your license through NIPR.
AdjusterPro offers over 40 hours of state-approved continuing education courses for West Virginia adjusters, including the required ethics course. Courses can be purchased individually or as a discounted bundle.
Additional Information for West Virginia Insurance Adjusters
Now that you know how to become an adjuster, let’s take a detailed look at the fees and costs of getting and maintaining your license.
West Virginia Adjuster Licensing Fees
- AdjusterPro West Virginia Exam Prep Course: $179
- State Exam Fee: $88
- Fingerprinting Fee: $45.75
- Licensing Fee: $50
- License Renewal Fee: $25
West Virginia Adjuster License Reciprocity
Reciprocity means an adjuster holding a home state license can apply for an adjuster license in another state without having to take that state’s exam. If you want to learn more about reciprocity and why it’s vital to your success, visit our Reciprocity: The Truth About Adjuster Licensing Agreements Between States blog article.
Fees for reciprocal licenses vary by state, but on average you can expect to pay between $40 and $60 per application, although a few states charge up to $120. To see what states will offer reciprocal licensing privileges to West Virginia adjusters, visit our West Virginia Adjuster Reciprocity Map. At the bottom of the page, we also offer a downloadable guide to help you prioritize which reciprocal licenses you should get first.
West Virginia grants reciprocal licenses to adjusters who are licensed in their home state or who hold a Designated Home State (DHS) license, as long as that state requires an examination and grants reciprocal licenses to WV adjusters.
West Virginia Offices of the Insurance Commissioner Contact Information
West Virginia Offices of the Insurance Commissioner
PO Box 50541
Charleston, West Virginia 25305-0541
Obtaining your home state license is the first step to a career as an insurance adjuster. Once you have your West Virginia home state or designated home state license, you should apply for reciprocal licenses so you can work in more states, making you more attractive to potential employers.
No matter where you’re at in your insurance adjusting career, we can help.