Arizona residents, follow our step-by-step guide below to get your Arizona insurance claims adjuster license. We’ve also included information on how to renew your Arizona license and what reciprocity looks like for AZ adjusters so you’ll have everything you need to obtain and maintain your license.
Not an Arizona resident? Visit the Arizona Department of Insurance website to see details on getting your nonresident license.
Let’s get started!
#1: Meet the Basic Requirements for the Arizona Adjuster License
Before you start taking steps to get your resident adjuster license, make sure you meet Arizona’s basic requirement.
- Be at least 18 years of age
That’s it! If you’re 18 years old, it’s time to strategize how to ace the Arizona adjuster state exam.
#2: Prepare for the Arizona Adjuster License State Exam
While a pre-licensing course isn’t required by the state, we highly recommend you take the AdjusterPro Arizona Adjuster Exam Prep Course so you’ll be fully prepared to ace the state exam.
Our course has been rigorously prepared and is regularly updated. Our online classroom allows you to print reference materials, take practice tests, and even create your own quizzes to help with subjects you are struggling with. Once you’re consistently making 90% on your practice tests and passing all the quizzes with flying colors…it’s exam time!
#3: Register for and Pass the Arizona Adjuster License State Exam
Register for and take your state exam through Prometric Arizona. When asked to select a pre-licensing provider from the drop-down menu, select 99999 Other (because pre-licensing is not required for this license).
The test is comprised of 150 questions and you must score at least 70% to pass. Candidates who score below 70% will need to retake the exam and pay the exam fees again. You are given 2.5 hours to complete the exam.
How to Become an Insurance Adjuster in 5 Steps
Getting your home state or designated home state license is a great start. See what else it takes to establish a successful career in the insurance claims industry.
#4: Submit an Application for Your Arizona Adjuster License
Once you pass the exam, submit an application for your adjuster license at National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR). You must apply for your license within 1 year of passing the exam or you’ll need to take and pass the exam again before applying for your license.
Arizona requires applicants to submit a fingerprint background check as part of their application process. We recommend making sure you pass your exam before you schedule your fingerprinting as the technicians will only process candidates who have passed their exam and fees are nonrefundable.
Effective with applications submitted on and after March 13, 2021, all fingerprints submitted to the Department of Insurance and Financial Institutions (DIFI) for resident insurance professional licenses (that submit an electronic application via NIPR) must be submitted electronically through the state-approved Electronic Fingerprinting Application Services vendor, Gemalto Thales.
On the Registration Complete page, take note of the Registration ID #. You will need to enter this # when you submit your application at www.nipr.com. We would advise you to also print the receipt Fee $30.25
You can still submit fingerprints using the paper FD-258 fingerprint card (Fee $22) with Form L-FPV along with the paper Form L-152 form. However, you will not be able to submit an electronic application using this method. A paper application and a check or money order including all application and fingerprint processing fees would be required to be submitted along with the FD-258 card, Form L-FPV and Form -152.
Your license will be available at License Search as the Arizona Department of Insurance verifies you meet all license requirements.
#5: Complete Arizona Adjuster Continuing Education and License Renewal Requirements
Once you have your license, you’ll need to formally renew it to keep it active. Arizona adjusters can renew their license through NIPR.
Arizona does not require insurance adjusters to complete continuing education (CE) hours.
Additional Information for Arizona Insurance Adjusters
Now that you know how to become an adjuster, let’s take a detailed look at the fees and costs of getting and maintaining your license.
Arizona Adjuster Licensing Fees
- AdjusterPro Arizona Exam Prep Course: $179
- State Exam Fee: $49
- Licensing Fee: $120
- Fingerprint Processing Fee: $30.25
- License Renewal Fee: $120
Arizona Adjuster License Reciprocity
Reciprocity means an adjuster holding a home state license can apply for an adjuster license in another state without having to take that state’s exam. If you want to learn more about reciprocity and why it’s vital to your success, visit our Reciprocity: The Truth About Adjuster Licensing Agreements Between States blog article.
Fees for reciprocal licenses vary by state, but on average you can expect to pay between $40 and $60 per application, although a few states charge up to $120. To see what states will offer reciprocal licensing privileges to Arizona adjusters, visit our Arizona Adjuster Reciprocity Map. At the bottom of the page, we also offer a downloadable guide to help you prioritize which reciprocal licenses you should get first.
Arizona grants reciprocal licenses to adjusters who are licensed in their home state. Arizona does not accept a Designated Home State (DHS) license so you must pass the Arizona state exam if you live in a non-licensing state.
Arizona Department of Insurance Contact Information
Arizona Department of Insurance and Financial Institutions
100 N. 15th Avenue, Suite 261
Phoenix, AZ 85007-2630
Obtaining your home state license is the first step to a career as an insurance adjuster. Once you have your Arizona home state or designated home state license, you should apply for reciprocal licenses so you can work in more states, making you more attractive to potential employers.
No matter where you’re at in your insurance adjusting career, we can help.