California residents, follow our step-by-step guide below to get your California insurance claims adjuster license. We’ve also included information on how to renew your California license and what reciprocity looks like for California adjusters so you’ll have everything you need to obtain and maintain your license.
Not a California resident? Visit the CDI Licensing Guide to see details on getting your nonresident license.
Please note, California does not offer reciprocal licenses to adjusters who are licensed in their home state or who hold a Designated Home State license. If you want to adjust claims in California, you’ll need to go through the licensing process.
Let’s get started!
#1: Meet the Basic Requirements for the California Adjuster License
Before you start taking steps to get your resident adjuster license, make sure you meet California’s basic requirements.
- Be at least 18 years of age
- Have two years of certified experience in the insurance adjusting field, equal to 4,000 compensated hours
If you’ve been convicted of a felony of dishonesty or breach of trust, you must submit a 1033 Application for Written Consent and receive approval back from the state before your application will be considered.
If you meet these basic requirements, it’s time to strategize how to ace the California Adjuster state exam.
#2: Prepare for the California Adjuster License State Exam
While a pre-licensing course isn’t required by the state, we highly recommend you take the AdjusterPro California Adjuster Exam Prep Course so you’ll be fully prepared to ace the state exam.
Our course has been rigorously prepared and is regularly updated. Our online classroom allows you to print reference materials, take practice tests, and even create your own quizzes to help with subjects you are struggling with. Once you’re consistently making 90% on your practice tests and passing all the quizzes with flying colors…it’s exam time!
#3: Process and Submit Fingerprints
California requires all unlicensed applicants to submit their fingerprints for a background check. We recommend getting your fingerprints processed before you take your exam to help speed up the application process.
You may process and submit fingerprints through Accurate Biometrics prior to your exam or get fingerprinted at your PSI Testing Center at the time of your exam.
See complete fingerprinting details and options on the California Department of Insurance (CDI) Fingerprinting Requirements page.
#4: Register for and Pass the California Adjuster License State Exam
Register for and take your state exam through PSI. When asked to select pre-licensing provider from the drop-down menu, select 7777 Pre-Licensing Waived (because pre-licensing is not required for this license).
You will be given 158 minutes to complete the exam and will receive your pass/fail results immediately following the exam.
How to Become an Insurance Adjuster in 5 Steps
Getting your home state or designated home state license is a great start. See what else it takes to establish a successful career in the insurance claims industry.
#5: Submit an Application for Your California Adjuster License
As part of your application process, you will need to obtain and submit a $2,000 Bond of Insurance Adjuster using CDI Form 31A-14.
#6: Complete California Adjuster Continuing Education and License Renewal Requirements
Once you have your license, you’ll need to complete some additional steps every few years to keep it active. Resident California adjusters are required to complete 24 hours of continuing education (CE) every two years. The 24 hours must include at least 3 hours of Ethics.
California adjusters cannot receive credit for any CE course more than once in any reporting period. Excess credits can be rolled over into the next reporting period.
Renew your license through CDI Licensing Renewal Service.
AdjusterPro offers over 40 hours of state-approved continuing education courses for California adjusters, including the required ethics course. Courses can be purchased individually or as a discounted bundle.
Additional Information for California Insurance Adjusters
Now that you know how to become an adjuster, let’s take a detailed look at the fees and costs of getting and maintaining your license.
California Adjuster Licensing Fees
- AdjusterPro California Exam Prep Course: $179
- State Exam Fee:
- $112 at a PSI Testing Site (21 sites located throughout the state)
- $79 at CDI Testing Site in Downtown Los Angeles
- Fingerprint Fee (through PSI): $68.95 or
- Fingerprint Fee (through CDI): $59
- License Application Fee: $79
- Licensing Fee: $311
- Bond Fee: Varies depending on credit rating and other factors
- License Renewal Fee: $311
California Adjuster License Reciprocity
Reciprocity means an adjuster holding a home state license can apply for an adjuster license in another state without having to take that state’s exam. If you want to learn more about reciprocity and why it’s vital to your success, visit our Reciprocity: The Truth About Adjuster Licensing Agreements Between States blog article.
Fees for reciprocal licenses vary by state, but on average you can expect to pay between $40 and $60 per application, although a few states charge up to $120. To see what states will offer reciprocal licensing privileges to California adjusters, visit our California Adjuster Reciprocity Map. At the bottom of the page, we also offer a downloadable guide to help you prioritize which reciprocal licenses you should get first.
California does not grant reciprocal licenses. To become a licensed adjuster in California, you must pass the state exam.
California Department of Insurance Contact Information
Website: California Department of Insurance
California Department of Insurance
Producer Licensing Bureau
P.O. Box 1139
Sacramento, CA 95812-1139
Email: Use CDI Contact Form
Obtaining your home state license is the first step to a career as an insurance adjuster. Once you have your California home state license, you should apply for reciprocal licenses so you can work in more states, making you more attractive to potential employers.
No matter where you’re at in your insurance adjusting career, we can help.